Beef Stroganoff with Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Lilsis
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Very good. Did make some changes after reading reviews. Used thin sliced round steak strips and tossed them in seasoned flour before browning. The flour at this point thickened the sauce beautifully later in the dish and eliminated the need for cornstarch. Completely left out the seasoning salt and tweaked the spices some, such as adding minced garlic and salt & fresh ground pepper to the bacon, celery and onions while cooking. Also added a little extra dash of worcestershire sauce after adding the fresh mushrooms. Served over egg noodles garnished with some shaved Parmesan Cheese with fresh green beans and seasoned tomato wedges. Made a very nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilsis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
OK..here's the deal. Please DO NOT use 2 Tbsp. of seasoned salt in this recipe! This has to be a typo. It's so salty you can't eat it. I made this recipe before & caught that mistake the last time, but...this time I was in a hurry & guess what? Poured in the whole amount of seas. salt..oh,yuck! Realized what I did as soon as I poured it in. I didn't want to pitch the whole thing so I tried adding a couple of peeled potatoes to it (supposed to absorb some of the saltiness...it didn't). I was talking to my sister & she suggested pouring all the broth out (just discard it) but not the meat,bacon or veggies & then rinsing all that off & starting over with more broth...it worked!! Only this time, I didn't use any salt at all & cut back on the Worcestershire sauce by 1/2. Perfect! It's a very good recipe if you don't screw it up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Excellent! Would make again. Better leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Totowa, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This comes out great everytime. I also serve it with mash potatoes instead of eggnoodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Prepared this recipe last night and my family LOVED IT! A different take on beef stroganoff. A different method from the same way I prepared it for 20 yrs. Highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
What a great recipe!! As other suggested, I cut back on the amount of salt my half and it was perfect. This is full of great flavor and everyone in my family enjoyed this. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
That has to be a typo for the 2 tablespoons of Seasoning salt. Way too much salt. No good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
It tasted great but it didnt make me or my boyfriend go 'wow'. And it was pretty greasy which kinda spoilt my appetite. Thanks for posting though, I will make this again but with some adjustments made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Not sure what happened, but it took much longer than I expected and didn't taste all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
My family loved this meal when I made it for them. My mom, who doesn't eat large portions, asked for a second helping, and my grandfather, who is a very picky eater, cleaned his plate. I didn't use bacon, but, otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter. I agree with other reviewers that the sauce was a little runny, so next time I will add more cornstarch. In addition, I will use less salt, as it was a little too salty for my liking. All in all, it was easy to make, and I will definitely be making it again. It would be a great recipe to make for company, as you can start it well in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States