Beef Stroganoff with Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I make this all the time (once a month...). We love it. I omit the season salt and cut back on the worchestershire sauce though. The amounts caled for in the recipe make it too salty for my taset. Fantastic recipe otherwise. I use the leftovers like creamed chipped beef and serve them the next day over toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUCIFER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I liked, but family did not. They staTED TO seasonings and NOT the true flavor of stroganoff that we all love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was my recipe I submitted a few years ago..Just so everyone knows the seasoning salt amount WAS a typo..I don't remember if I did it or maybe it just got posted wrong. So sorry for any one who's dinner was ruined :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I found that 3 cans of beef broth was to much, I used 2 and probably 11/2 would have been enough. I also did not have any worchestire sauce on hand, so instead of cornstarch to thick the sauce I used a packet of brown gravy. It was still a little thin so next time I'll add 2 packets of gravy. Overall very good I like a lot of sourcream in mine so I added additional to my individual serving. DF who does not like sourcream said that it was good even with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
im only giving this 4 stars because of all of the changes everyone had to make. i had to almost double the cornstarch, didnt add any salt, only used 3 slices of bacon. i also thinly sliced round steak(was what i had on hand) and seasoned it with a ton of paprika, fresh cracked pepper, dry mustard, and some garlic powder before browning it. I used sliced fresh mushrooms and sauted them with the onions. I served this on top of homemade egg noodles and oven roasted brussel sprouts on the side. next time will decrease the broth amount by half and use the cornstarch as written in recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Whoa as me!!!! I was in such a hurry that I printed this recipe, but did not read the viewers comments......BEWARE!!!! DO NOT ADD 2 TBS OF SEASONED SALT!!! My instincts were telling me it was too much, but alas I did not pay attention. It was still good, just really salty. I also added fresh sliced mushrooms in the last 15 minutes of stewing and it was perfect. I added a little more sourcream and the next day when I warmed it up I had to add a little more water and cornstartch to thicken. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I didn't use any of the salt called for in this recipe. I used half low salt beef broth and half sherry. Threw in my usual garlic and onion powders and because I felt it was too liquidy, I added a can of low salt cream of mushroom soup. Fresh mushrooms and the leftover skirt steak I had worked well. Thank you Karena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I am a guy who loves to cook so I thought I would try this beef stroganoff recipe. It turned out great! My personal modifications worked PERFECTLY!. I used good round steak, threw the cut up chunks in a plastic bag with seasoned flour and coated the meat well. Browned/cooked the meat until it was slightly crispy and the coating was nice and brown. I used fresh "Royale" mushrooms (wonderful!), not canned, cut into small pieces and sauteed separately from the meat. Same with the chopped up onions. Did NOT add (a)the bacon (too salty), (b)corn starch,(c)Worcestershire sauce, or (d)any salt. I used (1)can of Campbell's mushroom soup with (2)cups of water instead of beef broth. After all was ready, following the recipe I found here for times and such, put it all together in a dutch oven and let it simmer. It was still very salty so I added white wine (Chardonnay) until taste evened out the saltiness. Stirred in the sour cream just before serving, again to my own taste. First evening's dinner I used egg noodles and served to dinner guests. They went nuts! Loved it! Second night, used the leftover stroganoff over white rice for myself. Both times it was EXCELLENT! I guarantee this recipe will delight you and your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This is a recipe that I make after a long day at work. Flavorful, easy and quick! I always salt to taste in recipes (unless its bread)and I never had a problem with salt levels. Fresh mushrooms instead of canned were perfect! It makes a lot of food...but I've never had better leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I was disappointed in this recipe. I guess I really didn't like the bacon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States