Beef Stroganoff III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
We used apple juice instead of wine and didn't add any of the dairy. it was great! We make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This is good. I did the process a bit differently, but the same recipe. I first browned the meat, then transferred it to a slow cooker. Same thing with the rest of the process - skillet first, then to the slow cooker. That allowed me to slow cook the meat for several hours to get it nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Jackson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Loved it! I added a Tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce which gives it a great tangy flavor. I didn't have the wine, so just added more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great recipe, used a few tips and tricks from other reviewers (thank you JJH), as well as a few of my own. Here's what I did: - Used a large yellow onion, I feel you get more/better flavor from it as opposed to a green onion. - I also used a healthy amount of garlic (2 cloves if you're trying to be conservative, more if you're like me). Add it after your onions are nice and soft; garlic burns quickly! - I hate canned mushrooms; way too slimy! I bought some regular ol' button mushrooms, sliced 'em, and added them to the pan with the onions. This method worked well! - Marinating the beef in the red wine is also key (for no more than a couple of hours)! You get some amazing flavor from it! Don't forget to omit the white wine at the end. - Instead of adding the flour in separately, do yourself a favor...before you brown your beef, dredge it with some flour. Just enough to give each piece a light coating. You're going to get better flavor and its a sure fire way to ensure your sauce doesn't end up lumpy. Also, you're going to end up with some bonus pan drippings, that you'll deglaze with the beef broth! - I strongly suggest, please for the love of god, use a couple splashes of worcestershire when you add the mustard. I promise you won't regret the amount of rich flavor you're adding! - I used half sour cream and half cream cheese at the end. The cream cheese brings the really nice creamy velvety texture, and the sour cream brings flavor to the party! Hope this is helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Like others, I made a few changes. Marinated the steak pieces in red wine (old vine Zin) for 6 hours. Prior to pan frying in butter (YUM!) I dipped the steak pieces in a combination of flour, pepper, and salt. Then fried in batches so as not to crowd the pan. I still added white wine, beef stock,sour cream and a little flour to the sauce. This is one of my all time FAVORITE dinners! Thanks for a great base recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and my husband and I Loved it ! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Husband wanted thicker, weigh more sour cream. I loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I did beef base thickened, added can of mushrooms. Used 3tbs of my homemade onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was scrumptious! In the last hour of cooking, I was called away from home, so I threw it into a crockpot. Put it on high for about 2 hours. Meat was very tender and the flavors were fantastic. I actually used venison, instead of beef because that's what I had in the freezer. Did not add mushrooms, as the family doesn't like them and did not add the white wine. Used regular yellow onions.....it's what I had in stock. Took the suggestion of marinating the meat in red wine just about an hour before cooking. Highly recommend this recipe even though I tweaked it a bit. That's what I normally do with recipes, but I still give it 5 stars because it gave me an excellent original recipe to tweak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Killer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States