Beef Stroganoff III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Made it for dinner tonight. It was very good ,I used a piece of yellow onion instead of green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard L Russ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Pros: excellent flavor, the sour cream doesn't overpower, and the consistency is perfect. Cons: dumping flour straight into the pan clots the flour, calls for waaaaaay too much butter, cooking it one pan is an unnecessary disaster. Recommended Recipe Alterations: 1. Cut the butter by half to 1/4c 2. Put the flour in a separate bowl and added some of the pan drippings. Mix the two together in the extra bowl until a paste develops and then add back into the sauce. 3. Remove meat before adding the flour paste to make the sauce and avoid sloshing it all over the stovetop. Add meat back in after flour is fully incorporated. 4. Substitute white onion for green onion. Half a small onion is plenty. 5. I would never, ever use canned mushrooms. I used two packages of fresh sliced mushrooms and sautéed them with the onion in a SEPARATE pan and added them both to the sauce after the flour is incorporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DameLibelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My husband and I loved it!! Very tasty and filling. Recipe as is only serves 4 as a one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was really, really good. But of course I altered it some. Ok, maybe quite a bit. I used elk instead of beef (my husband's a hunter), vidalia instead of green onion, added a tbs of Worcestershire and a ton of garlic (or something like 6 cloves). I also didn't have any mushrooms and it was fine without them. I think that the mustard is really the secret ingredient in this recipe, as I've made stroganoffs many times and none have been as tasty as this. I'll be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This recipe is ridiculously delicious! Thank you for sharing it! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Made this last night with chuck roast. Omitted the white wine and did add some cream cheese, but I don't think I will use it next time as I don't think it probably added any flavor. Used about 2 Tbsp of butter and 2 Tbsp of olive oil to brown the meat. Worked just fine to leave the meat in the pan while cooking the onions. I did mix 2 Tbsp of corn starch into the beef broth (used consomme) and added after adding broth to the pan, instead of the flour. Turned out great with awesome flavor. Most of the work is cutting up the meat and onions, so don't be intimidated by the amount of time. Most of the time is just simmering. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good. This did not stay around very long. My family loved it. Highly recommend. I made it in the pressure cooker and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Tried it for the first time this evening and it was absolutely delicious. The only thing I changed was the white wine as I didn't have any on hand. Used White Zinfandel instead and it turned out perfect. The whole family loves it and I will definitely be making it again. Thanks for the great recipe. I love this website and is the only one I use for my searches. GO BRUINS.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Excellent! Husband and both my boys (4 & 7) devoured it!! I also threw in a bunch of frozen mixed veggies to make it a bit healthier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This was delicious! I think next time I will marinate the meat in the white wine first, because the sauce wasn't as thick as I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States