Beef Stroganoff III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe, and I modified it to work with hamburger. No doubt it will taste even better with better meat, but I had the burger on hand. I followed the suggestions of onion (I used 1/4 red), and garlic (about 4-5 fresh cloves). Here's how I made it, but I'm sure it can be done many different ways: browned the burger. In separate pan, cooked mushrooms, onion and garlic with some olive oil. Threw some wine in there, because I felt like it. After they cooked down, I added it to the burger. Then I made a roux with some butter and flour, and added the broth to that (more wine too, OBVIOUSLY :), cooked it until it thickened, and then added that to the meat. After it was thickened, I added the cream cheese, dijon mustard and sour cream. Oh - so GOOD. I actually added more mustard to my plate, because I like that flavor, but you can add more or less depending on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
To die for! I make a huge pot roast the night before I make this, and use the leftovers for this. I serve it over egg noodles. I don't usually buy wine for it, though; I just use extra beef broth. We don't drink wine, so the rest of the bottle would be wasted. Still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Best stroganoff ever!! I recommend marinating your beef in red wine and be sure to add 1/3 cup cream cheese along with the sour cream! So so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is delicious! Great flavor and definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
this was really good. I cooked according to directions, but used just one onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrangW
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Great recipe. I also marinated my meat for an hour in red wine and the meat came out so tender. I also stir fry the meat in garlic and olive oil instead of butter first then transfer into a bowl. I sauteed 1/2 chopped yellow and 1/2 red onions in 2 ounces of butter with fresh mushrooms, garlic and added some chopped green peppers. I also omitted adding the white wine at the end since I had already added red wine earlier with the marinated meat. My favorite beef stroganoff by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrangW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I actually used ground beef, regular yellow onion, and fresh mushrooms since that is what I had on hand, but this was still very good. It will be so much better with roast, but it's great with ground beef if that's what you have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Love this! Just a few changes made. I used sirloin because that's what I had on hand. I used two cans of Campbell's French Onion soup instead of beef broth. I also used fresh mushrooms and served it with egg noodles and a crusty french baguette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Great recipe, I couldn't find condensed beef broth, i used a can of beef consume instead. I also followed the recommendation by fellow reviewers to marinate the strips of meat in red wine and omit the wine at the end. I added water as needed to keep it with some broth, at end added 1/3c sour cream, 1/3c cream cheese as other reviewers said. Next time I will use 1/3c greek yogurt and only 1/4c cream cheese. Either way it was good, it would have been just as tasty without the dairy at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Yum! I reduced the butter by half and used non fat Greek yogurt in place of sour cream. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States