Beef Stroganoff III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I'm really going to have to double this when I make it next, because it always disappears so quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Five stars will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I love this basic receipe, I also followed the advice of others (1) marinate the meat in either a red or white wine for 1-2 hrs. in fridge in a zip lock bag prior to cooking (skip wine at the end as it is the sauce) (2) Use 1 medium yellow onion instead of the green onions (3) Garlic is a must sauteed (4) Used cornstarch and added to cooled beef broth before adding to skillet)(I used Better than Buillon Beef)(5) Added 1 tbsp. worcestershire sauce with prepared mustard (6)I sauteed fresh sliced portabella mushrooms, thinly sliced onions, garlic and sliced red pepper. (7) plated the meat and then added back to mushrooms,onions, garlic, etc. (8) added 1/3 cup of both the sour cream and cream cheese ten minutes before serving. I do this in my 5 qt. cast iron casserole on my cook top. I also use this with chicken breasts substituting with Chicken better than bullion. Very Very Yummy...serve with either rice or noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I was a bit leery of the stated cook time, but I got a decent sized chuck roast and dove in. It's a surprisingly easy recipe, with most of my effort centered around trimming the meat. The chuck roast I got took a lot of effort to clean up, but the finished result was worth it. I would guess it takes 10-15 minutes from the start of cooking to the 'simmer' phase, then just check on it every 10-15 minutes. The end result was tender and flavorful meat with a nicely balanced sauce. I served it over egg noodles and the family devoured it. I would say the recipe is for 6, and I didn't put in mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I love beef stroganoff but my husband only tolerated it until now. This was fabulous...amazing flavors and the chuck roast (who knew?!?) was so tender and delicious. I cut the butter in half. I chunky chopped a regular onion, instead of the green onions I used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and 2 of flour mixed in with the condensed beef broth before adding it to the pan. Chopped up some garlic, about 4 cloves. Added 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire. I did use a can of mushrooms but also used 2 portobello mushroom caps. I upped the sour cream to 1/2 a cup and added 1/3 of a cup of whipped cream cheese. I left out the white wine because I marinated the meat in red wine for about 30 minutes. I didn't cook it all in the pan, I stink at that. I flash cooked the meat. Took it out, sautéed the onions, adding the mushrooms when the onions were about 1/2 done. Added the garlic about 1 minute before the onions and mushrooms were good. Then threw everything else in the pan (except sour cream and cream cheese) and covered and simmered for just over an hour...adding the sour cream and cream cheese off heat. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Made this with Beezlys adaptations: marinade meat in red wine, add Worcestershire sauce and cream cheese. Yellow onion instead of green. The only other thing that needed changing was that 4 tbsp flour was too much for the amount of beef broth. It was really thick and goopy. But it needed more sauce than the amount of beef broth made. By the time I thinned it out with additional broth it was right thickness and quantity. Probably used twice or more the amount of broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Rich, filling & tasty! My spouse hates green onions, so I used a tablespoon of dried minced instead. I added some frozen peas for color & they gave the dish a well-rounded flavor. Mine had become salty somehow - I used boullion & may have measured wrong. In the end the peas & noodles balanced it out. Next time I'll try subbing some olive oil for butter in the roux and maybe add some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicola
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This dish was well received! I planned an Easter brunch menu for a client and included this recipe because her husband is more of a simple meat-n-potatoes man and would not appreciate the other menu selections we planned. We did a test run and the only change I made was sirloin as opposed to the chuck. Accessible ingredients, simple prep, and a great result...my kind of dish and outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I've had better it could've been the steak we used though we chose to do it with a skirt steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States