Beef Stroganoff III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I tried this recipe today, with some changes. I used fresh mushrooms. I added two onions to it (we like onions a lot). I used corn starch to thicken rather than flour (corn or potato starch thicken as well or better than flour, and do not have that floury taste). I used more sour cream than the writer, about double, I'd guess (I'm not much of one for measuring, I'm more of a "how does it taste" sort of gal). I used about double the wine and cooked the alcohol off. I also added garlic. I also did not trim the fat - that contains a lot of flavor, and we Americans should not be so scared of natural fats - the issue is excess, not the fat itself. In cooking, first I sauteed the onions, added the mushrooms, salted and peppered, set aside. I would have done some garlic then, but it was a bit of an afterthought. Then I cooked the meat, which I had seasoned (salt and pepper - again would have used garlic in this part, too, but afterthought), and tossed it in the starch. After it was cooked to desired doneness, set the meat aside, made the sauce, put the mushroom/onion mix back in, then the beef, then the sour cream, served over rice. It was pretty tasty. In future, I think I would also use red wine rather than white. Red wine gives a more robust flavor. All in all, I think this recipe was an excellent guideline and a huge improvement over the family recipe I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana Spaulding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Made this a few weeks ago with success! Nothing too gourmet, but certainly comforting, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovefood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Great recipe with the following modifications: used sirloin steak marinated in red wine, garlic, sherry and white wine, yellow onion, Worcestershire, and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
My entire (very picky) family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Very good recipe, would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Easy to make and wonderful flavor. I used sirloin for my dish like others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Palka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Simple and delicious. Mine was extra simple because I used left over prime rib that was already diced and ready for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Wish I would have gotten a better cut of beef-- it was not tender at all... but that's all my fault. I used a steak rub on the meat before cooking it and used fresh baby bella mushrooms. Also probably put a little more sour cream than needed, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States