Beef Stroganoff III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I have made this stroganoff several times and it has become a staple! My boyfriend (now husband 7/2006) claims this is his all time favorite dish that I make. Over time I have made several modifications to this recipe: 1. Marinate the meat in red or white wine for 1-2 hours in the fridge prior to cooking. This adds a really nice flavor to the beef and tenderizes the meat, and you can skip the addition of the wine at the end as this can thin out the sauce. 2. Use 1 medium yellow onion (sliced or chopped) instead of the green onions. 3. Garlic is a must (be liberal unless you are on a date)! 4. Corn starch works just as well as flour or you can also use 2 tbsp of each...I have always found it easier to dissolve them in couple of tbsp of beef broth before adding it to the skillet otherwise it's really difficult to dissolve flour/corn starch in sauce. 5. Add 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce along with the prepared mustard. 6. Add two cans (4 oz) of sliced mushrooms and simmer with the beef instead of at the end of cook time. 7. Add 1/3 cup cream cheese and 1/3 cup sour cream that the end...trust me this key!!! TIP: I found it VERY difficult to push aside the browned meat and then cook the onions and add the flour to the skillet the first couple of times I made this. Instead, now I plate out the meat after browning and then cook the onions by itself in the pan, and then return the meat back to the pan and add broth with dissolved flour/starch. Also, I have used fresh mushrooms in t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEEZLYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This was the best beef stroganoff I've ever had! I did marinate the beef in red wine. I also used yellow onions instead of the green onions. I did also add 1 TBSP. minced garlic. I added 2 TBSP of cornstarch to the beef broth before adding it to the pan and cut the flour to 2 TBSP. I found it easier to take the meat and onions out while thickening the sauce and then adding them back to the pan. I let this simmer for about an hour and a half and the meat was really tender. I think you could put it in a crock pot too and that would be delicious. At the end I added 1/3 c. cream cheese and 1/3 c. sour cream and omitted the white wine since I marinated in red. The cream cheese was a great addition which I saw from another reviewer. It was absolutely delicious!!! My 17 month old daughter loved it. This will be a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1048 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
"I'm speechless. I'm actionless. All i can do is sit here and revel in how good this is!" Direct quote from husband. We did follow the suggestions of other reviewers: omitted butter (used non-stick frying pan) for healthier meal; used sirloin instead of beef chuck; added 1 Tbs. Worchestershire sauce; added two garlic cloves; used 1 diced yellow onion instead of green onions; and used fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
700 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Perfect without any changes as far as I am concerned. I don't rate recipes a 5 if they need changing to be right. As for the food snob that thinks if a home cook can make it it only deserves 3 stars....get a life! Some of us have other things to do other than wreck a simple recipe by fooling around all day trying to be a "chef". Simple is often better. This is delicious and doesn't taste like a "simple" recipe. Don't be put off by the snobs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is fantastic!!! I’ve used this recipe for Stroganoff several times with only minor changes … used fresh (sautéed) mushrooms and eliminated the white wine (because it thinned the sauce too much) and my family has always enjoyed it. But, after reading some of the reviews, I decided to try marinating the beef (sirloin) in red wine for a couple of hours and added a chopped clove of garlic (at the same time the green onions were added). These two changes along with using the fresh mushrooms have made this an absolute family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENH1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is some of the best beef stroganoff ever! I used sirloin instead of chuck roast and let that marinate in red wine, garlic, and Worcestershire for two hours before cooking. I cooked that then plated it. I used a combination of green onions and vidalia, fresh mushrooms instead of canned, 1 Tbsp. of Worcestershire, white wine and minced garlic. After I added the meat back in I reserved a bit of the broth to mix with 2 Tbsp. of corn starch. I added that to thicken then added the sour cream and a bit of cream cheese. This was fabulous served over egg noodles - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Mercy! This one offers up a most incredible flavor, a unique combination of down-home and exotic. The recipe as written is no doubt wonderful, but I improvised a bit based on experience, instinct and what I had available. I followed suggestion of marinating the beef in red wine. Then, because the wine permeated the dish all through, because of the beef marinade, I didn't add the white wine in at the end. I also added 1/3 cup of cream cheese as recommended by other reviewers. That part was fine, but I'm not so sure the extra calories are worth it. I didn't detect a significant difference in the flavor pre cream cheese to post cream cheese. I used real mushrooms, not canned. That is highly recommended. I sauteed the mushrooms with the green onions and removed them from the skillet to the same bowl where I rested the beef. Too, I used light sour cream. Hey, there is enough richness in the recipe, using light sour cream will not make one iota of difference. I served the recipe on packaged noodles. I'll try rice next time. Even my picky wife, who shuns flavors that depart from basic meat and potatoes--especially dishes involving wine--said she "loved it."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Absolutely Wonderful! As suggested by previous cooks, I marinated the beef in a white wine for a few hours and then didn't add any wine at the end (used a little extra broth instead). I used a whole yellow onion instead of the green. It seemed like a lot of onion and I was nervous at first, but after an hour of simmering, they practically diappeared. Just before the hour of simmering, I added 2 cloves of finely chopped garlic, 1/2 tsp of worcheschire sauce, and 1/2 tsp of Jack Daniels mustard. It was sooo good! It was slightly difficult mixing it all in one pan, but it all turned out great! It made just enough for 2 large helpings, and an extra bowl for leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I had a chuck roast I didn't know what to do with..I didn't even know stroganoff could be made with this cut of beef! It was SUPERB, and loved by my family and neighbors who we share cooking duties with! 2 husbands and 3 teenaged young men proclaim this to be the best! The secret is long slow cooking! The green onions were different and perfect since I had some I needed to use up! Great recipe! I served with noodles... BTW..Taking the all fat off the meat and cutting it up took almost an hour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
GREAT recipe! I have made stroganoff over and over before trying this recipe and never gotten it right. This time, for the first time, it worked. I did use sherry instead of wine, *fresh* mushrooms, and beef bouillion, not stock. But is was YUMMY! Great recipe even for a klutz like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginColorado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedalia, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States