Beef Stroganoff III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Best for a family. Used fresh mushrooms and regular beef broth. No issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Super yummy!! I didn't add the mustard as my Mom never did and it seemed weird to me but it was wonderful all the same. Make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I refuse to use a can of cream of mushroom in this dish and usually cook on the fly. What's most important when executing this recipe is 1.how you slice the meat to get it tender.2. stir/mix gently, not quickly 3. ensure there's lots of sauce and leftovers b/c it always taste better the next day. Here's my modified recipe. 1.cut 2 lbs sirloin into strips 1/2 x 2"; Cut against the grain. Marinate meat in 1 cup red wine for 1 hour. 2.Place marinated meat in large bowl. Season meat with 1/2 t salt and pepper. On a side plate, add 8T flour. Add beef to plate, cover beef lightly with flour. 3.Heat large pot over med/high heat. Melt 2T margarine in pot. Add 1/2 diced onion to pot, cook until onions translucent, 3-5 minutes. Place on side in large bowl. 4.Melt 2T margarine in pot; Add sliced mushrooms and sautee. If using fresh garlic, add garlic. Cook for appx 5 minutes. Place mushrooms on side in large bowl with onions. 5.Melt 2T butter in pot and brown the beef strips. Just brown outside of beef, then place on side in large bowl with mushrooms and onions. 6. Melt 2T of margarine in pot. Pour about 1 cup of red wine in pan over med-high heat, for appx 3 minutes. Add in 2 cans beef broth, stir and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and stir in 6T worcestershire sauce. Add beef, onion, mushrooms. If not using fresh garlic, add in garlic powder. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes. 7. Add 1/4c sour cream, mix thoroughly. Adjust according to preference. Serve over cooked egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is wonderful, had to make some changes( lactose intolerant) so I subbed the butter with lactose free margarine and the sour cream with creamed goat cheese mixed with lactose free vanilla yogurt. It was excellent and the flavor was so good, served it over egg noodles. I made this for some friends we had over and it was loved by all. A keeper for sure. Thank you Donna for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe, and I modified it to work with hamburger. No doubt it will taste even better with better meat, but I had the burger on hand. I followed the suggestions of onion (I used 1/4 red), and garlic (about 4-5 fresh cloves). Here's how I made it, but I'm sure it can be done many different ways: browned the burger. In separate pan, cooked mushrooms, onion and garlic with some olive oil. Threw some wine in there, because I felt like it. After they cooked down, I added it to the burger. Then I made a roux with some butter and flour, and added the broth to that (more wine too, OBVIOUSLY :), cooked it until it thickened, and then added that to the meat. After it was thickened, I added the cream cheese, dijon mustard and sour cream. Oh - so GOOD. I actually added more mustard to my plate, because I like that flavor, but you can add more or less depending on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
To die for! I make a huge pot roast the night before I make this, and use the leftovers for this. I serve it over egg noodles. I don't usually buy wine for it, though; I just use extra beef broth. We don't drink wine, so the rest of the bottle would be wasted. Still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Best stroganoff ever!! I recommend marinating your beef in red wine and be sure to add 1/3 cup cream cheese along with the sour cream! So so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is delicious! Great flavor and definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
this was really good. I cooked according to directions, but used just one onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrangW
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Great recipe. I also marinated my meat for an hour in red wine and the meat came out so tender. I also stir fry the meat in garlic and olive oil instead of butter first then transfer into a bowl. I sauteed 1/2 chopped yellow and 1/2 red onions in 2 ounces of butter with fresh mushrooms, garlic and added some chopped green peppers. I also omitted adding the white wine at the end since I had already added red wine earlier with the marinated meat. My favorite beef stroganoff by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrangW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States