Beef Stroganoff II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Excellent recipe! Tried it this evening. I prepared the beef last night (I bought & cubed 2 pieces of London Broil) & let it marinade in beef broth, garlic, seasoned salt, pepper and a decent merlot overnight because I knew I wouldn't be making this until today.) The only variation was I tweaked other member suggestions and added 2/3 cup beef broth and 1/3 cup water to cream of mushroom soup, added additional mushrooms and 1 cup of light cream. After simmering for 15 minutes, I added 1 cup sour cream (not fat free), dash of worstershire sauce, dash of nutmeg and parsley flakes. AWESOME results...not thick at all, very rich and creamy and totally delicious. Kinda fattening with this variation but so what...you can work it off in the gym tomorrow which is what I will do!!! Will definitely prepare again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I followed the advice of one reviewer and marinated the sirloin steak. I cut about 1.3 lbs. into strips and marinated it for about 4 hours in 1/3 cup soy sauce, 2/3 cup white wine, 3 cloves garlic (I used the already diced, bottled garlic), and some ground ginger. This made the meat very tender and it had an absolutely wonderful flavor! I then browned the meat in a little oil, and added the onion and 8 oz. sliced fresh mushrooms. (The mushrooms really made this dish; I don't know how you could have stroganoff without fresh mushrooms!) After I added the flour and spices, I poured in the can of soup mixed with a can of milk. (I still thought it needed some thinning, so I made the mistake of adding white wine to the sauce. It would have been great with a little, but I added too much, and my husband complained that it was "too winey". Beware.) I didn't measure the sour cream; just spooned it in until it looked right. Served over egg noodles, this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
Several people reviewing this recipe on this website said it was bland, so instead of using chopped onion, I used one envelope of Lipton Recipe Secrets Beefy Onion dried soup mix, added 1/2 cup of milk to thin the stroganoff out, 1 can of mushrooms, drained, and used 1/2 cup each of fat free sour cream, and regular sour cream. It was very, very good. Not bland at all. I did make the mistake of using cut of beef for stew, instead of hamburger, and the meat was tough. Next time I will use hamburger, or try slow cooking this before adding the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
VERY heavy and rich recipe. Taste was it wasn't bad. I halfed the sour cream and added some milk still found it to be lead in my stomach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I browned the meat and onions in a skillet, then transfered to my slow cooker. The flour wasn't necessary and no need for the salt due the the sodium already in the soup. One can of soup was not going to cut it and this dish cried out for more liquid. I used three cans of Golden Mushroom soup and low sodium beef broth. I added garlic and onion powders and sauteed fresh mushrooms which I added during the last thirty minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
This was a very tasty dish, however, I did modify the recipe some. I sliced and sauteed fresh mushrooms with the onions before I added to the meat. Also I added some white wine so the stroganoff wouldn't be quite so thick. Very enjoyable, and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Great recipe! If you don't have steak strips in the freezer, ground beef works just as good! I sauteed lots of minced garlic in the pan before I added the ground beef-just to give it more flavor. The cream of mushroom soup makes it fabulous! I also added some milk to make it the consistency I wanted. Thanks for the recipe-my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Good, but needs a kick like garlic, woschestshire sauce or something along those lines. I also added peas, which ups the nutrition and sneaks in some veggies, for those of you with kids. Good base recipe to work off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
This was good. I don't generally care for stroganoff made with cream of mushroom soup, it looks anemic and has no flavor. The paprika helped with the anemic color. I also added a couple of tablespoons of red wine to help with the flavor and some milk to thin out the sauce a little. These helped a lot and while not as good as stroganoff made with stock it was good and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
I found this recipe to be very bland and flavorless. The consistency was like beef stroganoff, but the recipe had no flavor or color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States