Beef Stroganoff II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe, but we found it had too much sour cream. I will make this again, but will probably only use 1/2 the sour cream. Also, I added about 1.5 cups of fresh mushrooms, and fried them with the onions. I thought this was a really good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Very good - I tried this recipe following the instructions. I read several people's suggestion about the beef broth but didn't have that on hand. Instead I added a can of beef gravy with the mushroom soup and about a cup of water. I also added sliced mushrooms. It came out great, was easy and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
One thing to consider: slow cook the meat = let the flavors meld (and onions cook). I've made this recipe several times. Sometimes I quick fry the meat, most times not. I add the soups, meat, onions and mushrooms to the crookpot and cook on low for a few hours. NOTE: if you quick fry with the flour - you will need a 1/2c beef broth or water also added to the crookpot b/c the flour on the meat will thicken even faster. A few hours later - while I'm boiling water for the noodles - I add the "full flavored" sour cream. We like this recipe - method may differ but the ingrediants are the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Followed directions exactly. Found the sour cream overwhelming. Unusually thick too. Easy to make. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was a good recipe. I did change it up a little. I marinated the steak in red cooking wine, salt, pepper, a little lemon juice and chopped onion. I then sauteed it all in a little butter. I then did the rest of the recipe as follows except I did add a little milk to thin it down some. Good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I prepared this and marinated the steak in Merlot and garlic over night as suggested by another reviewer. The meat tasted awesome. As for the rest, very bland! Also, make sure you saute onions FIRST! They were very crunchy. Yuck! Overall was not well received. Won't be making this again. Now if I can come up with something to use the meat, that would be GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
My husband loves home made beef stroganoff so I thought I would give this a try. I didn't think there was enough sour cream so I added more. Other then that it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was ok. The sauce was a little thick and I took the advice of others to season the meat. But as I write this, my husband is telling me that he enjoyed it and we did a good job making due with the ingredients we have here in China
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I did two things different with this recipe. First, as I browned the meat I added a splash of red wine to the pan. And for my paprika I used 1 tsp. of Hungarian paprika. On the final product the red wine and Hungarian paprika gave it a nice tang. The only this I'm still not sure about is that the sauce was a little thick and I felt like the recipe needed just one more ingredient but I am not sure what. This meal did convert a stroganoff hater, into a stroganoff lover. Pretty good praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I used a little beef stock with minced garlic and onion while browning the meat and added 1/2 cup milk with the soup and a few dashes of worcechestire sauce and it was the perfect consistancy!! Best dish Ive made in a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States