Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
One of my favorite quick dinners, so much better than overpowering good beef with cream of mushroom soup! I saute mushrooms along with the beef and onions and add 1/2 teaspoon of paprika before adding the sour cream. 16 oz of sour cream is too much however, I think 8 oz is about right. Make sure you don't overcook the beef and be very carefull after adding the sour cream, if you bring it to a boil it will curdle, just let it warm up and serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
Everyone loved this one! Yummy and simple to make...hubby even took the leftovers to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
My mom introduced me to this recipe right after I returned home from school two years ago, and it has been a regular meal for my family and I! It's quick and easy (just like I prefer,) the sauce is rich, and the meat tender! I tend to add seasoning salt to kick the taste up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LHell

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I gave this recipe an excellent rating because with a little modifying- Sue's recipe is just the start of a terrific stroganoff. * Substitute veg. oil for butter * I used a sirloin steak. I partially froze it to make slicing strips thin and easy. * Fresh mushrooms are a must!! Baby bellas or crimini will do. * A splash of dry sherry adds wonderful depth of flavor *Beef broth will remove the coveted brown bits from bottom of skillet. *8 oz of sour cream is sufficient *Add Paprika, freshly grated black pepper & kosher salt to season dish to perfection. My food critics, a husband and five kids loved it. Even the vegetarian high school senior loved the mushroom loaded sauce. Thank you, Sue for the beginnings of a mouth-watering dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was very,very, easy and came out very good. I added a little flour to thicken it up a bit and about 8oz of sourcream instead of 16oz. Served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Love this recipe!!! So easy. Used oil instead of butter added garlic and 2 pounds fresh sliced mushrooms. Also added flour to thicken sauce, salt and pepper. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was AMAZING! I added a little paprika and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I thought this recipe was great!! Only change I made was that I added 2 big scoops of sour cream instead of the whole container. Thanks,Sue!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I drained the beef after cooking it, added half a can of beef gravy, about 8 oz. of fat free sour cream, a 4 oz can of mushroomes (drained) and added salt, pepper and paprika to taste. I also didn't use any onions. My very picky kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Very good. I rolled the beef in flour & paprika, and then sauteed with onions, fresh mushrooms & butter. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup with the sour cream. Then I mixed it with 1 lb. cooked bow tie noodles & a little fresh pepper. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States