Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I gave this recipe an excellent rating because with a little modifying- Sue's recipe is just the start of a terrific stroganoff. * Substitute veg. oil for butter * I used a sirloin steak. I partially froze it to make slicing strips thin and easy. * Fresh mushrooms are a must!! Baby bellas or crimini will do. * A splash of dry sherry adds wonderful depth of flavor *Beef broth will remove the coveted brown bits from bottom of skillet. *8 oz of sour cream is sufficient *Add Paprika, freshly grated black pepper & kosher salt to season dish to perfection. My food critics, a husband and five kids loved it. Even the vegetarian high school senior loved the mushroom loaded sauce. Thank you, Sue for the beginnings of a mouth-watering dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
One of my favorite quick dinners, so much better than overpowering good beef with cream of mushroom soup! I saute mushrooms along with the beef and onions and add 1/2 teaspoon of paprika before adding the sour cream. 16 oz of sour cream is too much however, I think 8 oz is about right. Make sure you don't overcook the beef and be very carefull after adding the sour cream, if you bring it to a boil it will curdle, just let it warm up and serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
DO NOT use Fat Free Sour Cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRCARTER414

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I thought this recipe was great!! Only change I made was that I added 2 big scoops of sour cream instead of the whole container. Thanks,Sue!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I have made another stroganoff from this site and it was amazing...and this one just didn't wow me like the other did. It turned out very runny and truly didn't taste very well. All the same, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I followed every instruction and would NEVER make this again. The sauce did not turn out very smooth. My advice is this - do not try to make a stroganoff dish without the cream of mushroom soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
It WAS easy....but it turned out quite soupy. Once I put the sour cream in, it never got creamy. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I recently made this dish for my husband and my self. Neither one of us enjoyed it. It tasted like you were eating a tub of sour cream. I would not make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
So very bland. Needed some seasoning of any sort. Made the base recipe and like previous reviews needed to add ingredients to give it any flavour. Added mushrooms, Garlic, bit of paprika. Salt - pepper. Would be a shame for someone who had no clue on cooking to tackle this as their first attempt at stroganoff. They would never make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Pretty good for a simple stroganoff. I put the beef in wheat flour (seasoned with salt, pepper, and paprika) before cooking. I also added garlic, sliced fresh mushrooms, paprika, and red wine to the sauce. I used less sour cream (reduced fat) than called for and it came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States