Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I gave this recipe an excellent rating because with a little modifying- Sue's recipe is just the start of a terrific stroganoff. * Substitute veg. oil for butter * I used a sirloin steak. I partially froze it to make slicing strips thin and easy. * Fresh mushrooms are a must!! Baby bellas or crimini will do. * A splash of dry sherry adds wonderful depth of flavor *Beef broth will remove the coveted brown bits from bottom of skillet. *8 oz of sour cream is sufficient *Add Paprika, freshly grated black pepper & kosher salt to season dish to perfection. My food critics, a husband and five kids loved it. Even the vegetarian high school senior loved the mushroom loaded sauce. Thank you, Sue for the beginnings of a mouth-watering dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Nice, quick and easy dinner in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
My husband loves Stroganoff and he liked this recipe. I think maybe I added too much sour cream, and will add less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
It WAS easy....but it turned out quite soupy. Once I put the sour cream in, it never got creamy. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
I made this recipe on August 26, 2001, for some company I had over. I dont know if i did something wrong, i dont know how i could, but it was VERY bland and too soupy. We had to throw it out. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
DO NOT use Fat Free Sour Cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRCARTER414

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Something is missing from this dish. It was bland and too watery. My husband added parmesan cheese to his serving and that livened it up a bit. I was looking for something thicker with alittle kick to it. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLYJELLO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
It was tasty and quick to prepare, nice dish for a bit of a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
This is a good, simple dish. I accidentally used fat-free sour cream, and it still turned out okay. Delicious over egg noodles! Next time I plan to use less onion and add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
not very tasty - and too watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States