Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
i thought this recipe was good my kids liked it alot. i did change the serving size to 3 and only added about a half a cup of sour cream, salt and pepper to taste and i also added a little corn starch to thicken the sauce. turned out very well.. will make this again. thanks for listing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This was a big disapointment. The flavor of sour cream overwhelmed the dish, that really did not make as much as claimed. The bland flavor was really in need of a good kick. Will NEVER make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I thought this recipe was great!! Only change I made was that I added 2 big scoops of sour cream instead of the whole container. Thanks,Sue!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
It's delicious but it doesn't look like much....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
One of my favorite quick dinners, so much better than overpowering good beef with cream of mushroom soup! I saute mushrooms along with the beef and onions and add 1/2 teaspoon of paprika before adding the sour cream. 16 oz of sour cream is too much however, I think 8 oz is about right. Make sure you don't overcook the beef and be very carefull after adding the sour cream, if you bring it to a boil it will curdle, just let it warm up and serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
average at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I followed every instruction and would NEVER make this again. The sauce did not turn out very smooth. My advice is this - do not try to make a stroganoff dish without the cream of mushroom soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I have made another stroganoff from this site and it was amazing...and this one just didn't wow me like the other did. It turned out very runny and truly didn't taste very well. All the same, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I recently made this dish for my husband and my self. Neither one of us enjoyed it. It tasted like you were eating a tub of sour cream. I would not make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I gave this recipe an excellent rating because with a little modifying- Sue's recipe is just the start of a terrific stroganoff. * Substitute veg. oil for butter * I used a sirloin steak. I partially froze it to make slicing strips thin and easy. * Fresh mushrooms are a must!! Baby bellas or crimini will do. * A splash of dry sherry adds wonderful depth of flavor *Beef broth will remove the coveted brown bits from bottom of skillet. *8 oz of sour cream is sufficient *Add Paprika, freshly grated black pepper & kosher salt to season dish to perfection. My food critics, a husband and five kids loved it. Even the vegetarian high school senior loved the mushroom loaded sauce. Thank you, Sue for the beginnings of a mouth-watering dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States