Beef Stifado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
A friend served this and I can hardly wait to make it myself. Wish it were lower in calories and fat. Considering the cost of beef, it's worth the splurge of money and calories. The orange in here is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was very good but definitely needs salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wanting to use up a package of stew meat, I came across this recipe. I browned the meat on the stovetop, but then added all the ingredients to the crock-pot except the pearl onions. I cooked on low for about 6 1/2 hours. With one hour left, I add the thawed (frozen) onions. The onions were hot at serving time. I served this over brown rice along with a salad, 7Up Biscuits and 'Southern Peach Cobbler' from AR for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great flavor! I did change some things to simplify the recipe. I browned all the meat together with the garlic and onions in a wok, covered. Then I added the red wine, cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar. Instead of orange zest I added ~1 tsp dried orange flakes. I added the complete can, undrained of diced tomatoes and instead of the water, I added beef stock to add flavor. When I make this again, I think I will omit the pearl onions. They were tasty but they were a lot of work to peel and not essential to the meal. I might replace them with some other vegetable like green beans. I served it over egg noodles and with crescent rolls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Except for halving the recipe I followed it exactly and wished I'd made more as it is excellent. Husband wanted seconds and it would have been better the next day to allow all the flavors to really mingle. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
YUM! This is soooooo good. My husband didn't like it but he has boring tastebuds. If you like alot of flavour this is the answer! I served it over rice with a side dish of steamed asparagus, grape tomatos and fresh paramsan cheese. The recipe is on this site somewhere. Drink the leftover wine with your meal - Recommend Fat Red! :O) *hic*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
very good. I wasn't crazy about it the night I made it (hubby and kids were), but I loved it the second night after it had a chance to mellow in the fridge for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was good, in that it was not bad. But, it doesn't stand out to us. Possibly this was because I was too cheap to buy the pearl onions (which were $3/pound) and substituted a pound of regular Spanish onions, diced up. Having no memory of having eaten that type of onion other than canned (and not impressed with canned), I can't swear to it. The recipe didn't say whether to drain the tomatoes or not, so I didn't. I wound up using a cornstarch slurry to thicken the sauce -- after 20 minutes of simmering uncovered it was showing no signs of thickening, & we were hungry! :=) (Use 2 TSP cornstarch in 1/4 cup cold water; mix; add; bring to a boil & let bubble gently til thickened.) The cinnamon, nutmeg, & sugar do add a flavor here, but it isn't a dessert-like flavor. If you enjoy the things in this stew, you will probably like this recipe. I served this over white rice with a Greek salad on the side. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
very tasty mild flavor; the onions sure do the trick. I replaced wine with chicken stock though. It still turned out pretty awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annkunwar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was good, but not our favorite meal. We made it exactly as stated and served it with noodles. It is just a bit sweeter than we like, though everyone happily ate it they didn't feel it was worth the work to make it again. However, IF we do make it again we are going to try adding potato and carrot, which my family feels will better compliment the sweetness than the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States