Beef Stifado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Made this Sunday and heated it up today. Served it over egg noodles. It needed salt. Easy and the meat was very tender. It was a-ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I added two things to make this a whole balanced meal. Carrots and peas. Left out the pearl onions, we are still in debate if we like the texture of them or not. Did use the chopped onion though. I changed the way I cooked everything in this recipe and was able to use one pan instead of how many call for. I was really worried about all the spices but they worked, but I did leave out the sugar. Had to add about a cup of water throughout cooking to keep liquid in the pot so I threw in a beef cube at some point, it got bland. I served this over cauliflower rice, it was a delicious dish in the end after my tweeks and everyone enjoyed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Beef Stifado" was very classy in appearance owing to the presence of pearl onions, and it presented with wonderful "aromatherapy flavors." The combination of red wine, orange peel, cinnamon, and nutmeg was delightful. I liked the orange flavor so much that when the stew as done cooking I added an additional tablespoon of grated organic orange rind that I happened to have in the freezer. I did make the stew a day in advance as per a few recommendations, but I didn't notice any improvement in flavor with sitting. It was equally perfect when I first made it. Thank you Lolly B for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
A friend served this and I can hardly wait to make it myself. Wish it were lower in calories and fat. Considering the cost of beef, it's worth the splurge of money and calories. The orange in here is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was very good but definitely needs salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wanting to use up a package of stew meat, I came across this recipe. I browned the meat on the stovetop, but then added all the ingredients to the crock-pot except the pearl onions. I cooked on low for about 6 1/2 hours. With one hour left, I add the thawed (frozen) onions. The onions were hot at serving time. I served this over brown rice along with a salad, 7Up Biscuits and 'Southern Peach Cobbler' from AR for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great flavor! I did change some things to simplify the recipe. I browned all the meat together with the garlic and onions in a wok, covered. Then I added the red wine, cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar. Instead of orange zest I added ~1 tsp dried orange flakes. I added the complete can, undrained of diced tomatoes and instead of the water, I added beef stock to add flavor. When I make this again, I think I will omit the pearl onions. They were tasty but they were a lot of work to peel and not essential to the meal. I might replace them with some other vegetable like green beans. I served it over egg noodles and with crescent rolls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Except for halving the recipe I followed it exactly and wished I'd made more as it is excellent. Husband wanted seconds and it would have been better the next day to allow all the flavors to really mingle. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
YUM! This is soooooo good. My husband didn't like it but he has boring tastebuds. If you like alot of flavour this is the answer! I served it over rice with a side dish of steamed asparagus, grape tomatos and fresh paramsan cheese. The recipe is on this site somewhere. Drink the leftover wine with your meal - Recommend Fat Red! :O) *hic*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
very good. I wasn't crazy about it the night I made it (hubby and kids were), but I loved it the second night after it had a chance to mellow in the fridge for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States