Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Mmmmm! I made this tonite for a get-together with another couple. Our infant daughters even loved it! I used carrots, parnips, sweet potatoes and a butternut squash. I adjusted the recipe to use 6 cups of vegetables and we still only had 1 serving left over after we were all done, so I would say double what you think you'll need. The veggies cooked up nicely and we used apple juice instead of wine and I would definitely say that you do not need to add sugar. It had great flavor and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was actually pretty incredible. Everything I used was organic, from the meat to the vegetables. I used carrots, sweet potato, and butternut squash. The only thing I did differently is add way more spices since I know I prefer a punchier palette and used cubed beef stew meat instead of sirloin. Super comforting and super filling. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teakettica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
During preparation we decided that the vinegar taste was a little too much for the teenagers, we cut the flavor by adding some sugar and more chicken broth. They devoured the stew, taking second and third helpings. In retrospect I wonder if we should have used the apple juice instead of dry red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Yummm!! I didn't bother with the wine (I'm sure it would be fantastic with it) and used homemade chicken stock I had lying around the freezer. I used carrots, parsnips, sweet potato and baby potatoes and didn't bother with the mashed potatoes, it tured out great! 10/10 will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Overall I liked this recipe but the meat came out pretty tough. I used stir-fry sirloin cut up small, and also added green beans for color and crunch towards the end. The broth over mashed potatoes was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this dish minus mashed potatoes several times and I love it!! It is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I didn't like it and probably won't make again. The "gravy" was very thin and the meat came out tough. I had to come back and see if I missed an ingredient but I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
i loved this, sweet and tangy i added mushrooms and more broth and juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Well I didn't like it because I messed it up. I forgot to put the apple juice or wine. I really think forgetting that last bit of liquid really is what messed it up. Also the veggies weren't as tender as I wanted. The steak was tough. I think this recipe would be really good in the crock pot too. Next time I will do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Oven-Fried Chicken

Pump up the flavor with this delicious, healthier oven-fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States