Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Great stew recipe, very flavorful. I made just a few modifications----browned the beef cubes in olive oil instead of butter, used beef broth in place of the water (upped to 3 cups) and used "lite" baking mix and skipped adding the butter, added 3 Tbls. of parmesan cheese instead. Wonderful, will use this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Very good and very easy. Nice too because you don't need beef broth. I seasoned the flour before coating the beef cubes, and next time I'd add a bit more garlic and double the mushrooms. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This was pretty easy and fast to put together. I did add 2 teaspoons of beef soup base to the water for a little added flavor. All in all - a hot and satisfying meal on this COLD January day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Excellent. Got the receipe from an update from All-Receipes. Tried it the same day. Very tasty. Thanx to Carol J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
We really enjoyed this stew...easy to make and a lot of flavor. I also added 16oz diced tomatoes, some dill, thyme and summer savory. Makes very good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLexiSC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was great, after a few changes. I took the advice of other reviewers and used 2 cans beef broth, 1 can water, and a packet of McCormick stew seasoning. I also served it with Italian bread to sop up the deliciousness (instead of making the dumplings). Maybe next time I will add a little flour or cornstarch at the end to make it thicker, and use pearl onions instead of the onion slices. Overall, a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Great change from chicken and dumplings. Only change was to add 2 more cups of broth. No leftovers with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Just had this tonight. Awesome! Even the 2kids (5 and one) finished their bowls! I left out the parsley, gr.pep, and mushrooms. Tasted just like mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Very good. Great for the holidays because you start it then leave it. My kids loved it. I would add more beef the next time since it came out so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe is just GREAT....with a few additions. After the onions and garlic cook, I deglaze the pan with red wine. I use beef broth instead of water, and add 1/2 cup of red wine, 2 tbls of worchestershire sauce and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. I also omit the mushrooms and bump the potatoes up to 3 cups. I add chopped fresh rosemary to the dumpling batter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States