Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe is just GREAT....with a few additions. After the onions and garlic cook, I deglaze the pan with red wine. I use beef broth instead of water, and add 1/2 cup of red wine, 2 tbls of worchestershire sauce and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. I also omit the mushrooms and bump the potatoes up to 3 cups. I add chopped fresh rosemary to the dumpling batter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This stew was excellent with a few changes. There isn't nearly enough liquid in this recipe as written. I used two 14 oz. cans of beef broth and about 1 cup of water. I also added extra beef granules for flavor. I left out the mushrooms and they weren't missed. I browned the meat, onions and garlic all at the same time. I used 1 tsp. season salt instead of plain salt and added 3 bay leaves. I let it simmer about 30 minutes after adding the veggies, then another 20 with the dumplings. I used my own dumpling recipe instead of the Bisquick one. This was a delicious meal for a cold winter night. Very tasty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Great stew recipe, very flavorful. I made just a few modifications----browned the beef cubes in olive oil instead of butter, used beef broth in place of the water (upped to 3 cups) and used "lite" baking mix and skipped adding the butter, added 3 Tbls. of parmesan cheese instead. Wonderful, will use this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I think this is a really good "base" recipe for beef stew including all the essential ingredients. However, I made a few changes and ended up with dynamite results and lots of flavor. First, I used butter and olive oil to brown the beef because I love the two flavors together! I also browned the beef with the onions and garlic which acted as a seasoning for the beef; without it the meat is bland. Setting the beef aside I cut up my celery, mushrooms, and carrots and threw them in the crock pot. The idea of dumplings was good but I used potato gnocchi you can get right off your supermarket shelf. This took the place of the dumplings and the potato. I threw the meat over the veggies, the dumplings over the meat, added 2 cups of water, a can of low sodium beef broth and a can of french onion soup. Cooked on low setting for 4 hrs and it was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktorres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA
Photo by FSQUEEN
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I did make some changes, a few suggested by other reviewers, and basing my rating on them, so I apologize to the "rating purists"... but I think this recipe would be pretty good even without the changes. Ingredient changes: 1 can chicken broth and 2 beef boullion cubes instead of water, 1 can sliced potatoes plus the water for the cubed fresh potato, and the biggest change was using the Herbed Dumplings recipe found on this site instead of the biscuit mix. I also cooked the meat with the onions and garlic, and added some worstershire sauce and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was great, after a few changes. I took the advice of other reviewers and used 2 cans beef broth, 1 can water, and a packet of McCormick stew seasoning. I also served it with Italian bread to sop up the deliciousness (instead of making the dumplings). Maybe next time I will add a little flour or cornstarch at the end to make it thicker, and use pearl onions instead of the onion slices. Overall, a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Just had this tonight. Awesome! Even the 2kids (5 and one) finished their bowls! I left out the parsley, gr.pep, and mushrooms. Tasted just like mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great recipe! Used beef broth instead of water, and added an extra cup of water. Seasoned the beef with montreal steak seasoning before searing, too. Great for a gloomy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This stew was very good, even though I didn't add the dumplings. I used green peas instead of celery, green pepper, and mushrooms. I left it to simmer overnight in my slow cooker and it made the whole house smell good. The result is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Great recipe, but I too made a few changes. I used 32 oz of beef broth (one carton), e.v.o.o. instead of butter, added paprika and season salt to taste after 30 min. of simmering, no g. pepper(didn't have any), made my own biscuits and added a little flour at end to thicken. It was the first beef stew I made and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States