Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Great and delicious recipe. I used a combination of white and sweet potatoes and replaced the celery with peas. I ended up using a 32 oz. can of beef broth and used my own dumplings. We will definitely be making this again at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was a really great recipe! I ended up using about 2 cups of beef broth instead of water, and then added an additional 2 cups of water while the stew was cooking. I added a package of beef stew seasoning for more flavor, but the end result was a little too salty for my taste. Next time, I'll use the seasoning and skip the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Absolutely the best stew ever!!! We used beef broth also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Good stew with the suggested additions of beef broth instead of water, worchestireshire and a drizzle of balsamic. The dumplings left a lot to be desired...doughy, flavorless and a mess in the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My family loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Fabulous and easy one pot recipe. It was the first time I was ever able to get dumplings right. Even my picky children liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Really tasty and easy to make. I didn't make the dumplings so that's the only reason I didn't score as a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was Great, I changed the recipe a little. I didnt have pasley so I added thyme and an extra cup of beef stock to make it really saucy. This is a winner in my house hold, thanks for a yummie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Excellent Beef Stew and so easy to make. Loved the dumplings on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was a great recipe I did use beef broth instead of water. My wife and daughter loved it also. Next time I will leave out potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States