Beef Stew with Ale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
PORTION IS OFF!! I rated this recipe 5 stars because it is DELICIOUS! However the 12 servings that this recipe says it yields is WAY off! After following this recipe to the letter I barely had enough for 4 reasonably sized adult portions. I can't stress enough how DELICIOUS this recipe was, soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
absolutely delicious. I couldn't get celery root at the store I was shopping at so I used parsnips and regular celery but everything else I followed to the letter. Just amazing! We fed a family of 5 and still have enough left over for another dinner tonight so I would say the portioning is pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
YUM!!! I didn't have fresh herbs and the only turnip I had had seen better days so I used dried herbs (put in about 1/2 hour before it was finished) and an extra carrot. This led to my undoing because when it was finished I thought it was missing something (totally forgot about the vinegar because I had already added the herbs) so I added onion powder, garlic powder, and a little red wine. Probably not at all necessary with the vinegar! Anyway, I only had a pound of meat so I cut the recipe in half and had to pray that the portion sizes weren't that far off for my family of four. I think it would have been the perfect amount for most nights but it was so ridiculously delicious that no one could stop eating it. We ended up pulling out some cheddar biscuits that my MIL had made for us and frozen to sop all the liquid. Again, YUMMMM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Great basic recipe! Made the best beef stew I've ever had. I halved the recipe and added my own twists. Used 1 1/2 sweet onion, cut in chunks; half a bag of baby carrots; no celery root or turnip; one bottle of Guinness beer, added a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, about 1/2 cup of quick cooking barley (added the last 1/2 hour of cooking) and used some Montreal Seasonings. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used dry and added it when browning the veggies and then a bit more to the stew itself. Did use fresh rosemary at the end. I think the key is to season each layer and gradually build up the taste. Thank you so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This stew is FABULOUS! However, the last reviewer is right...the portions are WAY off. I can feed four adults well and have one small serving left over for lunch the next day. I couldn't find celeriac, so used just celery instead and added parsnips - just because my family loves them. I have made this three times now and have used various kinds of beer (whatever I have on had - ALWAYS at least one can or bottle of something dark). It has been great every time. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
The best thing ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I read the ingredients and read the reviews and I was excited about this recipe and ready to go. What I DIDN'T read was all the instructions. I've been pretty much a flour the meat, brown, throw in the rest of the ingredients and walk away for a few hours, crockpot-like. This one is more labor-intensive than that and I was getting kind of bummed because I really had other things to do that day than fuss with dinner. I'm so glad I hung in there though! This was just the absolute best!!! I won't say that I wouldn't try to cut or combine a few of the steps to see if it makes any difference, but I'll tell you what...if it DOES, I will go right back to this one and stop whining! This is a just FANTASTIC stew...the flavors just meld so wonderfully. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I'm craving it as I write just thinking about it. SO tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Wow, this recipe is just amazing! I had never attempted beef stew myself and though this was involved the results were fantastic. I discovered the secret to tender beef is letting it cook for the full duration - I've had stew in the past where the beef is dry and tasteless, and tasting this recipe throughout the process I found that the beef was wonderful after browning but then got tough when first boiled in the beer. The subsequent cooking allowed it to reabsorb the moisture from the stew and become tender again. I used Shipyard Brewer's Brown Ale which had a very robust malty flavor and made a gorgeous brown gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeninmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
FAB recipe, what a hit and what flavours, I made mine with ale, dark beer, I doubled the recipe as I had 8 people to feed including 4 hungry big eater men. Also I added mine to the crockpot to slow cook for the day after the initial browning and boiling. The smell is amazing, never thought I would rave so much about the beer in the stew but its incredible with such a distinctive taste. You could really experiment with any strong flavorsome beer. Bought some crusty french stick bread to serve with it and added a handful of chopped corriander before serving. What a hit! boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HannahRose
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
The flavors in this stew are incredible! I had trouble finding celeriac so I just diced up some celery, and I use Lagunitas India Pale Ale. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potter Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States