Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
As is the recipe is good. I usually make a slow cooker beef stew with stout and lots of root veggies. I prep it the night before and just pop it into the slow cooker in the morning. Well I forgot and I'd already promised my family beef stew so I tried this one. The really liked it but said it needed a few things like garlic, a little thyme and of course, the stout. Because we have a corn allergy and we are also Celiac, I thicken stews with instant potato flakes. Just a 1/2 cup was perfect for the thickness we were looking for. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Both my husband and I loved this recipe. The only changes were I used beef base instead of bouillon and I didn't have any celery. I will make this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I didn't have parsley, so I used thyme instead. I found that I needed a lot more cornstarch than the recipe called for. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I followed this recipe amost entirely to begin with, except I had three pounds of stew meat. I'm not sure if this is why mine came out extremely soupy, but I had to do some serious work to get it much more stew-like than soup. I tried doubling the cornstarch to start, but I ended up making a flour slurry with about 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup water. I mixed the slurry thoroughly, brought the stew to a boil, and added the slurry. After a few minutes, the stew thickened, but it was left a bit flat tasting. I added another buillion cube and a teaspoon of worchestershire sauce and then it was good. The meat was very tender and everyone enjoyed it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This stew was really good. I did enhance the glamour with onion and garlic powders and tossed it in flour before searing the beef. If using all purpose flour, be cautious with the cornflour. Add some and then more if needed. We enjoyed the stew by itself since it's quite hearty but it would go great with biscuits too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The stew wasn't bad, but most definitely too thin as most reviews said...and this is after I tripled the amount of corn starch and mixed the beef with flour prior to cooking! I also added 1/2 cup of wine as per recommendation of many reviews, and I added mushrooms. I would like this stew more if it was thicker and less of a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Absolutely one of the best and EASIEST beef stews! Cracker Barrel discontinued their beef stew and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
this recipe is great as written. LADIES, NOBODY CARES ABOUT YOUR CHANGES, , rate the recipe as written, if you have to make changes, submit your own recipe, and let the rest of us form our own opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Easy and yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. I added onion powder, garlic powder and pepper before I seared the meat and added a small glass of wine with the beef stock as a reviewer suggested. The family loved it. I served it with basic biscuits by lenihan5 from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States