Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I use baby potatoes and cut them in two, all ready cut carrots and washed and green beans and onions. I put 3 tablespoons of cornstarch and I love this stew. My husband and dog loves it too. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very good. The only thing that I did different, I left out the celery(do not like it). Otherwise made as is, very, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Great base recipe. Flavorful throughout. Even my very picky husband likes it! Tender meat, although I used stir-fry strips cut in half crosswise. The meat is more consistent, since with stew meat you get trimmings from lots of different cuts. Made some changes: dredged meat with Kentucky Kernel Seasoned Flour (eliminates need for salt, pepper, garlic etc) shaken in bag and browned a single layer of meat at a time in olive oil; deglazed pan with 1/2 cup or so of Alltech's Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale; used Knorr Homestyle Concentrated Beef Stock (didn't have my preferred Minor's Beef Base); and used a bag of frozen stew vegetables from Kroger (pearl onions, carrots, celery, and potatoes. Next time I will cut potatoes in half. Do not thaw veggies). Added a large sprig of fresh rosemary from my winter garden. Needed 1-2 more cups of liquid. I used water, but could use more ale, beef broth, or stock. Flavor was still perfect even with the extra water. Didn't add any salt, and just a bit of freshly ground pepper. Can't wait to make this again. The lesson here is to experiment , but keep the cooking methods and time. Be sure to use a large pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was perfect as is. Being West Indian I like things spicy. So I added about a tablespoon of hot pepper sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Martin
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I followed the recipe to the letter and was bowled over!! This was really good and the meat was nice and tender despite my worries. Only thing I did was to add a little more cornstarch as we like a thicker gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Flavor was perfect , I will not use any other beef stew recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This stew came out amazing! Great flavor! Next time I will add less liquid and more flour (I didn't have any cornstarch) but still great. I did add fresh garlic and sliced mushrooms. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved this recipe. I made some changes based on some of the reviews. I added some red wine after browning the beef and also increased the bullion, potatoes, carrots, and water. And, I didn't have celery in the house but I did have celeriac, so I used that. I also used thyme instead of rosemary because I didn't have rosemary either. As other reviews suggested I increased the cornstarch. Super delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I cannot believe how GREAT this stew came out!!! This is my second time making it, I used another recipe and it didn't come out right, but THIS one is a hit. I too thought the stew would be a little bland due to the lack of seasonings, so I added garlic powder and pepper (no I didn't measure) while the meat was browning, followed the recipe until the end. I still thought it lacked flavor so I added salt...DO NOT DO THIS FOR IT WILL BE TOO SALTY. I had to add low sodium chicken broth to cut back some of the salt...did it work? A little. However, the end result is what mattered because my 5 and 2 year old ate it. Even my critical mother loved it (even with the salt). Thank you sooooo much for sharing this recipe. This is a keeper and I will be making this again (with no added salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA
Living In: Wyandanch, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States