Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
It's good, but I can't give it 5 stars because there is no way 2 cups of liquid is enough for this stew. If you follow the recipe as it is written, you'll come out with a pot roast. I had to add 2 more cups of water and added worchestershire and ketchup to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was great! I was pleasantly suprised at how easy this was to make, and my husband took the leftovers for lunch the following day. ( He never does that). I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I have made this many times over the years but never reviewed it. I saw this in this month's Allrecipes Magazine which reminded me that I haven't made this in a long time. It is definitely 5 star both as written or if you want to make some minor changes to your taste. My guy, like others, likes lots of beef in his stew so I used 3 lbs of beef, 5 cups of beef broth, one cup of cabernet wine ( my preference over the cubes and water). I left everything else the same as written for 2 lbs, except for increasing the spices a bit to taste since there was more liquid. As others suggested, I increased the cornstarch and water to 6 tsp. each to accommodate the increase in liquid. At the very end, I added some frozen peas. I don't like mushy peas. Thanks again submitter and thanks Allspice for adding and oldie but goodie to your magazine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
First time trying recipe and my family loved it! We're really not stew fans but everyone had second helpings and guest even took home a bowl for later. I will definitely cook this again. I also adjusted recipe by using beef stock and adding more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I think this recipe has the basics you need for a classic stew, and the wiggle room to add ingredients to make it your own. I added 2 cloves of garlic, minced, when I was browning the meat. I also added Worcestershire sauce, about 1 teaspoon, along with the rosemary, parsley and pepper. I also chop my veggies a little smaller, but that's so my 5 year old had no issues eating it, as well as my elderly mother. I love this recipe so much, I am making it for dinner right now :) It's pairs well with fresh from the over biscuits, which you have time to make after adding your veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
As is the recipe is good. I usually make a slow cooker beef stew with stout and lots of root veggies. I prep it the night before and just pop it into the slow cooker in the morning. Well I forgot and I'd already promised my family beef stew so I tried this one. The really liked it but said it needed a few things like garlic, a little thyme and of course, the stout. Because we have a corn allergy and we are also Celiac, I thicken stews with instant potato flakes. Just a 1/2 cup was perfect for the thickness we were looking for. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Both my husband and I loved this recipe. The only changes were I used beef base instead of bouillon and I didn't have any celery. I will make this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I didn't have parsley, so I used thyme instead. I found that I needed a lot more cornstarch than the recipe called for. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I followed this recipe amost entirely to begin with, except I had three pounds of stew meat. I'm not sure if this is why mine came out extremely soupy, but I had to do some serious work to get it much more stew-like than soup. I tried doubling the cornstarch to start, but I ended up making a flour slurry with about 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup water. I mixed the slurry thoroughly, brought the stew to a boil, and added the slurry. After a few minutes, the stew thickened, but it was left a bit flat tasting. I added another buillion cube and a teaspoon of worchestershire sauce and then it was good. The meat was very tender and everyone enjoyed it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This stew was really good. I did enhance the glamour with onion and garlic powders and tossed it in flour before searing the beef. If using all purpose flour, be cautious with the cornflour. Add some and then more if needed. We enjoyed the stew by itself since it's quite hearty but it would go great with biscuits too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States