Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
We followed this recipe exactly and it was very good. The only thing I added was a couple of splashes of worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Excellent stew!! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I did tweak it a bit,added some left over homemade gravy ....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Zoidis Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Thanks to Chuck. I used the red wine, along with the worchestshire sauce, steak sauce and ketchup. Very rich and flavorful stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Followed the recipe almost as is, except added more seasonings namely garlic powder, onion powder, salt, paprika and extra dried parsley. Had to skip on the rosemary since I didn't have any but it still turned out great. I recommend adding the carrots and potatoes just for the last 40 min so they're not too smushy. Ate it over white basmati rice topped with crushed red pepper. Super satisfying and cooked to perfection! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have been looking for this recipe my whole life! My grandma made the best beef stew - but she never wrote down her recipes, they were all in her head. When she died she took her recipes to the grave with her. I have never been able to replicate the stew until now. This recipe is just awesome! I did take the suggestions of other reviewers and coated the beef with flour & pepper before browning and I like my stew on the thicker side, so I tripled the corn starch. So, so good. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I have to honestly only give this recipe 4 stars after reading all the great reviews that followed reviewer "Chuck" ~ I decided to go with his suggestions, mostly. Placed the beef in a bag with seasoned flour and I did "shake it up, baby". Took a long time to brown the four batches of meat to a nice crust/color. I used one cup of a Cabernet wine for the water and deglazed the pan & crusty stuff with that, scraping up the burned & browned bits. I used a knife to cut/crush up the Knorr beef boullion cubes, melted in the remaining 3 cups of hot water. No rosemary on hand, so I did 1 big shake of Italian herbs instead. I brought meat & liquid to a boil and let simmer for an hour, covered. Smelled GREAT! Added 3 stalks celery, half a bag of baby carrots chopped, 2 garlic cloves, 1 large yellow onion & leftover gold potatoes I had on hand, 3 lbs, 2 shakes Worcestershire. Added another 2 beef cubes in 2C hot water, as it didn't seem to have enough liquid, but added only 1C initially. Was very "soupy" after 30 mins, so I took the leftover beef dredging flour, whisked it into the boullion water in batches, added that & cooked another 30 mins, cover off. Liquid turned a light tan & thicker, more like a stew consistency than soup, which is what I was going for. DELICIOUS!! Beefy, savory, a tad too salty due to the xtra cubes, but somehow still delicate, layered and complex in flavors. Just monitor to your tastes, TASTE AS YOU GO for seasoning and voila! SOOOO GOOD! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I have never made stew before, the taste I was expecting was one of my grandmothers. I have to say it didn't come close im not sure if it was the rosemary or something I did wrong. I followed the recipe but added parsnips and turnips, Could that have changed the flavor or am I right with the rosemary. It just seemed like such a strong overpowering flavor. The meat was tender and the gravy perfect. Thank you for this recipe I might try it again without the added veggies and the rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
ok...was thin and broth needed some taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I wasn't impressed with this recipe at all. I followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States