Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
The only change I would make to this recipe is to add half a rutabaga or turnip as I know it - diced - the extra flavour is unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Meat should not be crowded into the pan and covered as it will steam. Better to sear a few pieces at a time uncovered for more flavor and fond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
this misses the boat unless soup. First the meat needs be tossed in flour and browned with 2 coarse chopped onions before added to the liquid. That precluded the useof corn starch. Third add 1 small can of tomato paste What evolves is a rich meaty thick stew.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I was looking for a new stew recipe. This one has become our favorite. I can use any cut of meat and it always comes out delicious and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Collette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
great recipe, I added rutabaga to the mix. mmm mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
no but when i make beef stew i use beef stock instead of water and to make it thick sometimes i use instant mashed potoatoes,makes the stew a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made this and found I should have doubled the recipe. My kids loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Delish. Read reviews and coated meat with flour and seasons. Added green peppers and mushrooms. We were able to cut the meat with butter knives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wunchie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Family loved this one! I didn't have celery and had 3lbs of meat instead of 2. I added peas at the end and took the suggestions of some reviewers by adding 1 cup of wine, red potatoes, seasoned the meat with garlic & onion powder and pepper and then sautéed it after dusting in flour. I also used baby carrots, sliced in half. I made this with homemade biscuits and my husband and daughter polished off the leftovers a day later. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
It is great. We will add mushrooms next time. I have to make a half recipe to get it to fit in my crock pot, which is large, but not XL. The only downside is that you basically have to pre cook it before you put it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States