Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Really liked to proportions of the ingredients. I also added a couple tablespoons of Worchestershire sauce, some thyme and bay leaves, and 3/4 cup red wine. Instead of adding flour or corn starch to thicken, I added 2 extra potatoes and then pureed them with some of the broth. It thickens the stew beautifully without changing the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
The rosemary gives this recipe an excellent flavor.... I added 1/2 tsp more..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Living In: Derwood, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Did the "shake the bag baby" trick. Browned meat up in the skillet & deglazed with red wine. Added 3 cans low sodium beef broth, simmered 1 hour, added 1 more can with all the veggies. DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wasn't expecting anything great.. But this recipe turned out to be the best stew I have ever made! The entire family raved about it! Very flavorful! I followed the recipe, as stated. However, i did use a couple extra teaspoons of flour for a thicker stew. Next time, I will add the potatoes later in the recipe, or use the new potatoes, as stated by other reviewers. No extra salt needed. Give it a try! Hope you enjoy it as much as my family and I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I found this to be mediocre. I'm not sure what it is, but I think I'll keep looking for a better beef stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Best stew I ever made! I did add mushrooms and cooked in a crock pot over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My boyfriend raves about this asking me to make it almost every week lol I love the rosemary, it looked and tasted like a real chef made it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spenney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Very tasty and easy!! I did make a few changes and added garlic instead of rosemary and put in just a pinch of dried parsley. I also added a few bayleaves. I didnt have cornstarch on hand so i used flour instead. I started with 1Tbsp dissolved in water and gradually added it in. I did find tht it was too thin for my liking, so i did another Tbsp of flour dissolved in water. I let it simmer for a few minutes and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Love reading the comments. Everyone gives it a 5 star rating and then tells about all the changes. For starters, we never use bouillon cubes. I just used water to deglaze the pan and added a shake of Worcestershire sauce. This turned out just fine. Actually, this is pretty much the recipe I use for stew all the time, but I mostly make it with lamb. One can also add parsnips or turnips, if desired. But potatoes, onions, carrots and celery are required at a minimum. I would never add garlic to this. Good with a salad and some fresh baked bread or on noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is the best beef stew I've ever had. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States