Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Wow! So close to my very own recipe, so I tried this. I did "tweak" this recipe a wee-bit! (sorry, I cannot help it...lol) I created this in my roaster so I could make a larger batch. I simply tripled this recipe. I did as this recipe said, I used vegetable oil and browned the meat, (yes right in my roaster on 400 degrees), as it was browning, I added seasoned meat tenderizer and pepper, (approx 1 tablespoon each....keep in mind, I tripled this recipe and the seasoned meat tenderizer is perfectly salty, so I would not recommend adding any other salt), stirred almost constantly, once the meat was completely browned, I added about two cups of red wine, the diced onions, celery and the cornstarch paste (as this recipe instructed), I also added about a tablespoon each of parsley, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika and Worcestershire, (I also included a tablespoon of A-1 sauce as suggested by another viewer), this made a lovely roux. Smelled amazing! I turned the roaster down to 250 degrees and let that simmer SLOWLY for about an hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Then I added bullion cubes w/water, the carrots and potatoes, left the roaster at 250 degrees and simmered SLOWLY for another 2 hours stirring every 15 minutes. I served this with homemade buttermilk biscuits! It was delicious and warmed us all up on this cold February day here in Northern Illinois! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Loved the recipe...easy to make. The only thing my taste buds needed to add was a teaspoon of sage! (My mother always added a cup of frozen peas to hers--about 15 minutes before it was done for added color, taste and texture.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is the best beef stew recipe I have ever had... follow it exactly and make sure you add the fresh rosemary- and be sure to use Angus beef! It is a broth based stew rather than gravy based. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. What a lovely taste! Yes, I did need to thicken it by adding more cornstarch but that was it. It tasted great to me. Lots if flavor! However if you like .0, you can add more pepper or perhaps onion salt or beef broth/bullion. This stew can be tweaked in many ways to your liking but it is great as written or to use as a stew base and then tailor it to your needs. Good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Yum! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This was VERY easy. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it did not thicken up. I used 2x the cornstarch and it still was watery. Next time I make it, I will dredge the meat in flour and sear it first. Maybe that will help it thicken up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xxannananaxx1992
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My 4 year old daughter proclaimed "Momma, you made the best beef stew ever!" Enough said :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Very tasteful. I substituted red wine instead of water. Family just loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is a big hit with our 3 teenage boys! Like others, I used some salt, pepper and garlic in a flour mixture to coat the beef lightly before browning. I sometimes use beef broth and add an extra packet of beef seasoning. Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States