Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. What a lovely taste! Yes, I did need to thicken it by adding more cornstarch but that was it. It tasted great to me. Lots if flavor! However if you like .0, you can add more pepper or perhaps onion salt or beef broth/bullion. This stew can be tweaked in many ways to your liking but it is great as written or to use as a stew base and then tailor it to your needs. Good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Yum! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This was VERY easy. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it did not thicken up. I used 2x the cornstarch and it still was watery. Next time I make it, I will dredge the meat in flour and sear it first. Maybe that will help it thicken up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xxannananaxx1992
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My 4 year old daughter proclaimed "Momma, you made the best beef stew ever!" Enough said :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Very tasteful. I substituted red wine instead of water. Family just loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is a big hit with our 3 teenage boys! Like others, I used some salt, pepper and garlic in a flour mixture to coat the beef lightly before browning. I sometimes use beef broth and add an extra packet of beef seasoning. Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I used 2 cups of water instead of 2 tsp. I also added some beef broth for extra flavor. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Great recipe to tinker with. I added some red wine like some other reviewers, and substituted peas for celery since I forgot to buy it. We enjoyed it, but I think it needs some garlic and other seasonings to be over the top. The meat was incredibly tender using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made the recipe as is, no changes, and it did not have enough flavor. Also, it was very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States