Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was simply the best beef stew I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Easy and Delicious. I added lots of red wine and 4 cloves of garlic (when I added the onions). I wondered if the meat would be less flavorful because the beef is not dredged in flour before browning. Turns out I didn't miss the flour, or the floury mess. Also, not needing to brown the onions saves some work. I'll be making beef stew more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I used two packets of gravy mix in place of flour and one packet of onion soup mix in place of spices. Chicken stock in place of water. Also added extra meat, extra potatoes and then frozen peas at the end. No need to brown the meat. There was some risk that this might end up a salt bomb but it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This is my favorite Beef Stew recipe thus far (better than Slow Cooker Beef Stew). I added double the cornstarch to thicken it a bit more, and I had mushrooms on hand so those went in too....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
It's good, but I can't give it 5 stars because there is no way 2 cups of liquid is enough for this stew. If you follow the recipe as it is written, you'll come out with a pot roast. I had to add 2 more cups of water and added worchestershire and ketchup to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was great! I was pleasantly suprised at how easy this was to make, and my husband took the leftovers for lunch the following day. ( He never does that). I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrawfordMomof2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I have made this many times over the years but never reviewed it. I saw this in this month's Allrecipes Magazine which reminded me that I haven't made this in a long time. It is definitely 5 star both as written or if you want to make some minor changes to your taste. My guy, like others, likes lots of beef in his stew so I used 3 lbs of beef, 5 cups of beef broth, one cup of cabernet wine ( my preference over the cubes and water). I left everything else the same as written for 2 lbs, except for increasing the spices a bit to taste since there was more liquid. As others suggested, I increased the cornstarch and water to 6 tsp. each to accommodate the increase in liquid. At the very end, I added some frozen peas. I don't like mushy peas. Thanks again submitter and thanks Allspice for adding and oldie but goodie to your magazine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
First time trying recipe and my family loved it! We're really not stew fans but everyone had second helpings and guest even took home a bowl for later. I will definitely cook this again. I also adjusted recipe by using beef stock and adding more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I think this recipe has the basics you need for a classic stew, and the wiggle room to add ingredients to make it your own. I added 2 cloves of garlic, minced, when I was browning the meat. I also added Worcestershire sauce, about 1 teaspoon, along with the rosemary, parsley and pepper. I also chop my veggies a little smaller, but that's so my 5 year old had no issues eating it, as well as my elderly mother. I love this recipe so much, I am making it for dinner right now :) It's pairs well with fresh from the over biscuits, which you have time to make after adding your veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States