Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
We loved this beef stew creation. We made a few adjustments. We used 2lbs of flank steak (marinated in wine for about an hour) seared on a grill pan, before we added it to the large pot with the bullion/water/spice mixture. We also added about 3/4c of red wine, an additional 1/4c of water, and doubled the corn starch/cold water mixture. There is something about hearty stews - warms the soul! We highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
AMAZING! You would think with very few ingredients it would lack in flavor but this is an amazing recipe. The meat is mega tender! We will eat this a lot. Did add extra cornstarch for a thicker sauce but other than that left it alone and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Normajean Jacobs

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Simple yet delicious. I skipped the cornstarch part. Cooked on low for 8 hours in crock pot. Used only about 1 tablespoon of olive oil to brown meet. It's not too salty but I did add an extra onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Best stew ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I have just started getting into cooking again, now that I'm retired and have more time. My husband was over the moon and said he wanted stew. I was a bit reluctant, as he is Northern Irish and a bit of a stew connoisseur, but decided to try this recipe. It was a HUGE hit - he is still grinning from ear to ear. Easy to make and absolutely delicious. A real winner and one that will remain in my repertoire. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinders54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
The best stew I've ever tasted.... Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meib
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
My search for THE beef stew has ended. I used this as a basis for the stew I ended up making. I started it with mirepoix (mixture of diced carrots , onions and celery), used beef broth instead. I also browned the meat first. Added bay leaves and half a cup of red wine. I also added canned whole plum tomatoes (not the juice) towards the end. After it was done and cooled, I let it sit in the fridge overnight to let the flavors deepen. It was great, my 3 year old was mopping up the sauce with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was simply the best beef stew I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Easy and Delicious. I added lots of red wine and 4 cloves of garlic (when I added the onions). I wondered if the meat would be less flavorful because the beef is not dredged in flour before browning. Turns out I didn't miss the flour, or the floury mess. Also, not needing to brown the onions saves some work. I'll be making beef stew more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States