Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Great, easy stew, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I only had 1lb of beef defrosted, so I adjusted the recipe a bit. Coated in flour, garlic powder, parsley, rosemary and pepper to fast fry, then added a little more pepper, rosemary and parsley with 2c broth and 1/2c red wine. After an hour, added in the chopped potatoes, and simmered in low for another 1 1/2 hrs, then added in some frozen mixed veg for the last half hr (no carrots or celery in the house ATM).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
EASY and DELICIOUS. I followed the recipe except omitted celery (added a little celery salt instead). Will try again and play with it. Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Found this to be kind of bland. Needed more seasonings and flavor, meat was superbtender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CindyLou
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Excellent, very hearty and a sure pleaser. I followed the recs here and did the following to improve it: Shake meat w/ 1/4th cup flour, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp pepper in bag before browning. To the liquids, add 1/2 cup of red wine, 1 Tbsp ketchup, 1 Tbsp A-1, 1 Tbsp Worcestershire. Can use 4 cups beef stock instead of water + bullion cubes. Added 8 oz sliced and sauteed white mushrooms 10 mins before cooking completed. If I could give this 4.5 stars I would only because, even with my additions it is bland. Definitely a keeper though with these changes, and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLou
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
THE BEST stew ever! We love this recipe. No changes, perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Sauteed meat with onions, garlic, spices, Worcestershire sauce (added cumin - sooo much flavor). Used broth, added flour/water to thicken. Added peas/corn at the end. Very good. Also even better when I cooked it in the crock pot. Tried adding tomato paste/crushed tomatoes once, don't recommend that, it's too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
AWESOME! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This is a delicious stew. Will make again, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
(soup lady)-the stew was great made a few changes followed wht 1 reviewer did chuck,,added red wine for deglazin & also added more veggies will make this again, 1/23/15
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fenelon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States