Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This stew is great!! It is easy to make and is great even for my picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Holy cow, this was delicious. I did make a few changes based on suggestions and what I had. I did not have rosemary, so I omitted it. I added a packet of McCormick beef stew seasoning instead. I probably used closer to 2.5 lbs of beef. I did not use celery, but used fresh green beans (maybe a half pound) and a can of corn. I also added a 1/2 cup of red wine after cooking the beef. I served this with buttermilk cornbread... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very tasty! I should have added more cornstarch because I would like it a little thicker. The rosemary adds a nice taste. Very pleased, will make again! P.S. I forgot to add the celery, will try again with that. And also I used 'no salt added' beef stock instead of bullion cubes. My husband appreciated my lower sodium effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Didn't have the cornstarch so I substituted with Bisto beef flavour and flour, it turned out amazing! This is the best stew I have had in forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by domeniquecharles
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
super simple super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
this is soooooo good just as is.. the 2nd time I tried it I added 1/2 Cup burgundy wine and 1 tsp garlic.. I made it for a church luncheon and got asked for the recipe by just about all the ladies auxillary.. My family loves it. It doesn't need any improvement at all. The absolute BEST stew I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Best stew I've made yet.Mine are usually bland and since I'm a fair cook I usually use a crock pot.Finding myself with time on a Saturday afternoon I skipped the crock pot.I also followed the suggestion of deglazing the pan with wine and using some Worcestershire sauce.I like celery in soups but not stew so I left it out. I believe not using the crock pot was a great idea. My husband loves stew vegetables so I fit more in.I was left with a tastefully rich stew.Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This is a FANTASTIC recipe! I did add 1 cup red wine and floured the meat prior to browning, did 4 pounds of beef to make a bigger amount, and added the splashes of ketchup, Worcestersire and steak sauce, no salt, cuz of the bouillon cubes and never needed the cornstarch, also added sweet potato to the red potatos, do need to add additional carrots tomorrow, but I'm telling you this was REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Amazing recipe! This was my first time cooking stew. I made this pretty much according to the original recipe. I added ketchup, A1 steak sauce, and worcestor sauce as another reviewer mentioned. I also doubled the cornstarch as I prefer a thick stew. The flavor was excellent. Cooking time recommended was right on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
WOW! This is the best beef stew recipe I've ever tried! Like some other reviewers I wasn't sure about the rosemary but it made this stew. The flavor was fabulous! My picky brother said over and over it was THE best he's ever eaten and he's rather fussy. He loved it. He's never complimented anything I've made so much! This is a KEEPER! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States