Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I have made this recipe several times. I add a little red wine. However, it's delicious with or without the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
great recipe! My hubby doesn't like stew usually, but loved this recipe. I put it altogether in my crockpot before I left for work and it was ready when I got back 8 hours later (on low). Otherwise, my changes were minor, I added a little bit of salt as I too did not use boullion. My husband is diabetic so I used a sweet potato instead of a regular white or red potato, but it was perfect! I'll be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I use baby potatoes and cut them in two, all ready cut carrots and washed and green beans and onions. I put 3 tablespoons of cornstarch and I love this stew. My husband and dog loves it too. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very good. The only thing that I did different, I left out the celery(do not like it). Otherwise made as is, very, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Great base recipe. Flavorful throughout. Even my very picky husband likes it! Tender meat, although I used stir-fry strips cut in half crosswise. The meat is more consistent, since with stew meat you get trimmings from lots of different cuts. Made some changes: dredged meat with Kentucky Kernel Seasoned Flour (eliminates need for salt, pepper, garlic etc) shaken in bag and browned a single layer of meat at a time in olive oil; deglazed pan with 1/2 cup or so of Alltech's Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale; used Knorr Homestyle Concentrated Beef Stock (didn't have my preferred Minor's Beef Base); and used a bag of frozen stew vegetables from Kroger (pearl onions, carrots, celery, and potatoes. Next time I will cut potatoes in half. Do not thaw veggies). Added a large sprig of fresh rosemary from my winter garden. Needed 1-2 more cups of liquid. I used water, but could use more ale, beef broth, or stock. Flavor was still perfect even with the extra water. Didn't add any salt, and just a bit of freshly ground pepper. Can't wait to make this again. The lesson here is to experiment , but keep the cooking methods and time. Be sure to use a large pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was perfect as is. Being West Indian I like things spicy. So I added about a tablespoon of hot pepper sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Martin
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I followed the recipe to the letter and was bowled over!! This was really good and the meat was nice and tender despite my worries. Only thing I did was to add a little more cornstarch as we like a thicker gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Flavor was perfect , I will not use any other beef stew recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This stew came out amazing! Great flavor! Next time I will add less liquid and more flour (I didn't have any cornstarch) but still great. I did add fresh garlic and sliced mushrooms. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States