Beef Stew VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The stew wasn't bad, but most definitely too thin as most reviews said...and this is after I tripled the amount of corn starch and mixed the beef with flour prior to cooking! I also added 1/2 cup of wine as per recommendation of many reviews, and I added mushrooms. I would like this stew more if it was thicker and less of a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Absolutely one of the best and EASIEST beef stews! Cracker Barrel discontinued their beef stew and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
this recipe is great as written. LADIES, NOBODY CARES ABOUT YOUR CHANGES, , rate the recipe as written, if you have to make changes, submit your own recipe, and let the rest of us form our own opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Easy and yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. I added onion powder, garlic powder and pepper before I seared the meat and added a small glass of wine with the beef stock as a reviewer suggested. The family loved it. I served it with basic biscuits by lenihan5 from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
this makes a really good stew! the flavours were fantastic and i can't wait to eat my leftovers tomorrow! i coated my beef in flour with a little onion and garlic powder and pepper. i added 1/2 a bottle of dark beer to deglaze the pan and then added the water and beef bouillon. i also used 3 T of cornstarch and 3 T of water to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This recipe is so easy and delicious! I make this once a week for dinner using veggies from the farmers market. It's so hearty and satisfying, and my 1 year old eats up the veggies like a pro! More than enough for leftovers. If I can make it while watching a toddler, so can you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSalt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Was good but my meat seemed dried out, even though I cooked it for less time than what was suggested. My 1 year old loved the veggies and "gravy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Awesome! I made the following changes: halved the recipe. Didn't use celery. Added fresh green beans, a clove of garlic, and a cup of red wine. Didn't have rosemary or beef bullion cubes on hand so used basil and chicken bullion. Had planned on starting to cook early then something came up so I chopped all the veggies and threw them in the micro steamer for about 8-9 min. Then put them in with the beef cubes and cooked for one hour. Turned out so good! I'm sure the meat would have been more tender if I'd had more time but it was still great. Served with homemade red skinned mashed potatoes and yeast rolls. Yum-my!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abower1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States