Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
Delicious, but a little bland for my taste Had to add 1/2 teaspoon of salt for flavor. Didn't realize that recipe called for BEEFY condensed mushroom soup since it wasn't listed as so in the ingredient section. All in all, a good and very filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KICKCHICK99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I use this recipe the day after I make the Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast from this website. I make it in my slow cooker and I think it turns out great. I also add a can of green beans towards the end. Thanks for this great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Farmland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I added 2 celery stalks(sliced), 5 beef bouillon cubes, and I couldn't find the beefy mushroom soup, so I used a can of cream of mushroom. My family loved it, even the kids. I took some to work to share and they all wanted the recipe!! Easy, fantastic, & reheated even better than when first made. I will absolutely be making this again! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mya Hickok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Added some rosemary, garlic and parsley. This was excellent. Oh, I used a can of mushroom soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I just got done serving this to my family, everyone but the 2 year old loved it! The 2 year old is super picky so it will take about 5 times of serving it before he will even try it. My 4 yr old ate it all by himself, sometimes we have to beg him to eat, but not this stew! I did add 1/4 tsp of dried minced garlic, which would be about 2 medium cloves, but that is becuase I had 3 lbs of meat instead of just the 1 1/2 the recipe calls for, and I also used 4 TBS of oil instead of just 2 due to the amount of meat I used. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
mushroom soup was a nice addition and the mushrooms were big enough for my kids to pick out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made a variatioon of this recipe and we just loved it. I used 3 small onions, regular mushroom soup and a T. of beef boullion. The secret ingredient was a t. of cocoa and 1/2 t. of instant coffee and then a splash of red wine. It was the best stew I've ever made. I didn't add the cornstrach but made dumplings to enjoy the gravy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great base recipe! I agree with the others that you can certainly spice it up with beef broth, bouillon, thyme, rosemary, mccormick's steak seasoning, garlic - whatever you like!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Love this recipe, its simple and tastes great. For anyone having problems getting the correct thickness, forget about the cornstarch and add potato flakes slowly until you get the desired thickness, it works great and doesn't change the taste since it already contains potatoes. The potato flakes turned mine from soup to thick stew fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIP IT UP KITCHEN
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very basic. So I added chopped celery and sliced zucchini and squash with the potatoes and tripled the onion and carrots. I sirred the beef in canola oil and flour then put the contents into my crock pot with 1 can creamed celery soup and 2 cans of water and added 1 8 oz can tomato pure and 2 cloves minced garlic , pinch of fresh oregano and 2 fresh leaves basil. I cooked this on high for 5 hours then added veggies for the last few hours. Made drop cheddar cheese and herb biscuits and served with room temperature butter, Not like Grammies, but very yummy : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIP IT UP KITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States