Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Loved it. I did add the potatoes as well. I placed them on the very top of the ingrediant pile above the juices and they were perfectly cooked at the end. If you cook it on low for 11 hours (I did), it is a stew consistency (e.g no broth, just a thick brown gravy like substance that clings to vegetables and meet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
After reading a few reviews I added 3 diced potatoes and a packet of gravy mix. I cooked on high for 4 hours. Didn't get to taste until the next day, but it was very good!! My husband didn't get to try it until 2 days later and he said "tastes like another bowl"!! He said you definately need to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Really good. I used a cube of beef broth to add more flavor, and potatos. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I traded the celrey with fresh green beans.Most excellent!Great for weekday leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I'm not a big fan of beef stew, so I didnt care for this myself. However my boyfriend loved it. Worth a try if you like beef stew. I did have to add a bit more flour to get the sauce to thicken. I will probably make this again for him in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Great recipe! I added beer as someone suggested-it became bitter and next time if I add beer I'll only use 1/2 can. Otherwise it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Delicious! Our whole family of picky eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Made this stew according to the recipe with no changes. The flavor is a definite 5-star but I only gave it 4 stars because the stew is way too thin. It was more of a beef soup than a stew. Cooked it on low in my slow cooker for 6 hours. When I saw how watery it was, I mixed a tblsp of corn starch in a little water and stired it into the stew and let it go for another 30 minutes. It helped a little but was still too watery for me. I'd make this again (because the flavor is really good) but would try to do something to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Awesome stew recipe and quite easy to make. Could be better with potatoes or rice added. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
All the spices in this were so complimenting! I used left over beef from a pot roast and cut down the water and used the left over juices as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States