Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I added potatoes to this recipe to make it into more of a meal, also added half teaspoon of celery salt and 2 oxo cubes and replaced the water with beef stock it was worth waiting 8 hours in the slow cooker anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was perfect winter dinner food. I cooked this on high for 4 hours. I added two extra cloves of minced garlic, three red potatoes cut up into chunks, and added the celery to cook only for the last 1 1/2 hours, so it wouldn't get soggy & limp. Celery was overcooked anyway. Next time I'll add it 1 hour before it's to be served. The cloves add the tiniest hint of that certain special something, such a good flavor. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
After having a can of beef stew last week my son announced that he wanted beef stew for his birthday dinner. I turned to allrecipes since I'd never made beef stew before, and I was not a bit disappointed in this recipe. I only made a couple minor changes one of which was to add 3 diced potatoes because I've never heard of stew without potatoes. The second thing I did different was that I marinated the meat in Worchestershire sauce overnight. Finally, rather than cooking it in the crockpot I did it on the stove. I probably cooked it about an hour after I had cooked the meat and added the remaining ingredients. The potatoes did get mushy so next time I will add those halfway through the cooking time. Coating the meat with the flour thickened the stew perfectly. Thank you for a great recipe that the whole family loved! I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prudenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hatfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Kind of disappointed. Only used 3 cups of water as suggested by other users. It smelled great cooking, but the taste lacked something. Good base recipe, but will not use this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Very good, a little bland on taste, maybe add some garlic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Now this is the best way to make stew. I did thicken it with cornstarch. I also added 1 beef bullion cubes and 4 or 5 small red potatoe wedges. Whats a stew without potatoes. Delicious!!!I will never again buy the pre-packaged dry stew mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
As the others have submitted, best beef stew ever! I do not like beef OR stew, and I loved it! Added a can of crushed tomatoes (using the juice as part of the water), and 3 cubed potatoes. I also thickened it at the end as it was too thin for my taste. But DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Made this recipe for the first time today and was very happy. The only things I did different was add a squeeze of ketchup and partly cooked white potatoes added halfway in. The stew was perfectly thick but I added flour just in case. It was not needed though. My son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is the first time I made Beef Stew that hubby actually complemented me on. I added about 8 quartered baby rose potatoes to the pot and used 2 cups beef broth instead of water. The sauce was outstanding!!! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Whenever a BIG snow storm is predicted, as it was for today, I love to cook something that will warm up my husband and kids after they shovel. I made this stew today with a few modifications and after supper my husband said "I think that was the best", I said "best I've ever made?" and he said "no, best I've ever had". I added potatoes, I didn't have worcestershire so I used a little A1 Steaksauce, a few bouillon cubes and a splash of red wine. About 1 hour before it was done I whisked about 2 tbls of flour into a little milk and added it, it thickened up nice. I'm sure I'll be making this alot over this long cold New Hampshire winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States