Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was really excellent stew. I added potatoes though. It wasn't so good that I won't ever try a different recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Needed more spices, salt or something. I added potatoes also. The thickness was perfect. I cut the stew meat really small because my husband prefers it small. Everything was good, just needed that wow factor in spices. Not sure what to add though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Awesome, used beef stock, lots of garlic, and of course potatoes. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
First time I've ever made beef stew and this is was exactly the flavor I was looking for! I was looking to get as many vegetables as possible so I also added peas, corn, spinach, green beans and potatos. And I replaced half of the water with beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was pretty good, but it needed more seasoning than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great classic stew recipe. I added 2 large cubed potatoes and 1 jumbo cubed sweet potato. Also used beef stock instead of water. Turned out great except it didn't take anywhere near 10 hours on low. Even with large chunks of potatoes it was completely done in less than 7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Great and super easy to make! We're going to add this to our recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I made this on a cold, rainy fall day and what a comfort on such a day! It was fantastic! The recipe was great as it is although I added a about 1/3 cup of white wine and 4 medium potatoes. I didn't have ground cloves but it tasted great without I also used 4 cups of beef broth instead of the water, which i think really enhanced the flavor and towards the end I did have to thicken it up from a soupy consistency to the "stew". I intended to add peas but forgot and will add them next time because we will definantley have this again! My sister made beef stew from another recipe on this site and she tasted mine and said that mine had a lot more flavor than hers and took the recipe! I am glad i didn't add any tomatoes to it but next time I will add some sour cream which I think would be a good addition for a bit of creaminess. A loaf of warm crusty bread was a splendid touch to this wonderful dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Really great recipe! I doubled it and think I'm going to be really glad I did; we're having friends for dinner and I think we're going to really plow through this dish! Perfect for a chilly, rainy or snowy day. I appreciated suggestions from other reviewers and incorporated some of the ideas like adding potatoes, tossing in about a tsp soy sauce, and thickening a bit if it was too soupy (mine was, but I created a roux on the stove top and incorporated it to solve that problem). My husband doesn't really like tomatoes in his stew, so I didn't follow that reviewer suggestion, however, I DID toss in about 1 cup of tomato sauce that I had leftover in the fridge (which could account for the soupier consistency). I also added about 1 to 1 1/2 c of frozen peas just about 30-40 minutes before turning off the crock pot. The combo of the paprika, cloves and lemon are really interesting and I think they probably account for the sort of unusual taste of this stew. I'll definitely make this one again! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This recipe was delicious. I used beef broth in place of the water and I also added my carrots and potatoes about 2 1/2 hrs into the cooking time to prevent them from being overcooked. My husband enjoyed it! I took some over to my parents house for them to try and now they want me to make them a pot! This is the second recipe by Corwynn that I've tried and both were very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States