Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ruby_cube
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This tasted like so much more work went into it than just throwing some easy items into the slow cooker! Very filling and yummy. Followed the recipe as is, but next time I might do what other reviewers suggested and sub beef broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Definately one of the best stews. for my personal taste i will reduce salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Very easy and really delicious! I threw in frozen peas and green beans about 45 mins before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
My family loved this stew. Quick, easy to make. I followed the reciped exactly as written and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Added 2 cans of beef broth and 1 can of water, 4 small potatoes, added rosemary and celery seed. Also didn't use any cloves. Really good on a cold day, Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I found the spices were a good start but it needed way more. I made the recipe in 1/2 the time and had to add thyme, soy sauce, bouillon, rosemary. Also I added potatoes in the last hour, and right before serving I added some canned peas for some sweet contrast. The result was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is a good base recipe for this stew but I added sweet peas, potatoes, spinach and red pepper. I found this stew to look more like a soup. I had to add cornstarch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
A good base recipe, but made some changes: - No cloves! - Beef brother instead of water - Add potates - Pinch of rosemary, parsley, basil, thyme - 1 cup of favorite spaghetti sauce - Worcestershire to taste - Lowry's seasoned salt instead of salt/sugar - 4 slides of chopped sauteed bacon - Brown meat in bacon fat, then deglaze - Add cornstarch slurry for desired thickness Overall impressions: Great base recipe, but a little on the under-seasoned side. The combination of tomato sauce worcestershire, and paprika provide a nice balance of flavor with a bite. Reminded me a bit of a Manhattan clam chowder broth, without the clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
totally make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was an excellent stew. I usually use a pressure cooker. This was a great alternative because of a busy day. I added potatoes for the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teacup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States