Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very tasty! I live in China at the moment, so most of the herbs and sauces are quite hard to find locally, but even without it is a very hearty warming meal. Extra broccoli and potatoes were a great addition. Some chili flakes and extra pepper helped, along with about 500mL of red wine for some body. I am really looking forward to trying it with all of the spices and sauces I want, but it was still very good and easy to change to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Cut vegetables into bigger chunks. Didn't add leaf. Cooked in crock pot on 3 (med) all day. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very Good!! We added potatoes and thickened the broth with flour to make it heartier. Otherwise, followed exactly. Tasted excellent!! We uses shoulder blade steak, and the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was really easy and really good. I mostly followed the original recipe, with a few additions based on what my family likes and the suggestions of other reviewers (the addition of potatoes, beef broth, and soy sauce). I cooked it on high for 5-6 hours in the crockpot and it was terrific. I will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I was really looking forward to a great tasting stew but didn't care for this at all. It smelled good cooking but it was way too watery. I used beef broth instead of water and that didn't help. It shows potatoes in the PICTURE of the stew but they are not mentioned in the recipe. That makes me wonder if other ingredients were left out as well. I was looking for something different but I guess I'll go back to my own beef stew recipe that yields a nice thick stew instead of a watery soup. I had to buy the cloves just for this recipe and they are not a cheap spice. It was a waste of money for a poor outcome. I'm glad to see so many enjoyed the recipe. I wish I could have been one of them. I'll be passing this stew on to my neighbors. Maybe they will enjoy it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made them today and they tasted great!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was very good! I added potatoes and used some of the other suggestions, like soy sauce, from others. I am going to add curry powder to what little I have leftover and serve over rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Where are teh potatoes in this recipe????I added them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy Lowe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Love this recipe. I seasoned meat with garlic powder, dredged in flour then browned in a little vegetable oil in my pressure cooker for 30 minutes. After releasing pressure, added stew vegetables and other ingredients for additional 7 minutes. Transferred stew into casserole pan the thickened with cornstarch to my liking. YUMMM,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I did a different take on this recipe by making it vegetarian (crazy I know!!!). I have to say this stew came out superb! I used the beef substitute from Trader Joe's (I'm sure seitan would work just as well). I sauteed the "meat" with rosemary and butter to start and then added it to the crockpot. The only other change I made was to add 1 vegetable bouillon along with the water. I was amazed on how adaptable this recipe was and how hearty and comforting it turned out. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States