Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Unbelievably bland. Only changes I made were to add 1 potato and sub broth for 2 cups of the water. I even took the time to flour and brown the beef. Major disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is by far the best beef stew recipe I've ever had. I think the ground cloves are the secret ingredient. I add potatoes but otherwise keep the recipe as is. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l_koke75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I used one lb. of beef instead of two, and added four russet potatoes (cubed). I liked the addition of the lemon juice and the clove. I was on a time crunch so after browning the meat and adding all the other ingredients I just put it in a 375 degree oven for about an hour (stirring half way through). Great meal for a cold or rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I rated this based on what I changed which wasn't too, too much. First, 4 cups water sounded blah so I went 1 1/2 cups beer (Keiths) and 2 cups broth. No cloves or bay leaves. I used onion powder as I had no onions. I doubled Worcestershire sauce because I usually do. The stew is a bit runny. However, the beer makes this taste incredible. I find stews blah but this has helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Flavor was there, but only if you double the spices as other reviewers suggest. I started out following the recipe exactly, but after tasting it after a few hours of cooking it definitely needed more spice. Also added beef bouillon and potatoes. Very watery, so added flour to thicken. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Just made this today with only a couple substitutions - beef broth instead of water and added 3 small potatoes. Very tasty, but next time I will eliminate the cloves and cut the bay leaves in half. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charles City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Garner, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This stew is watery when the directions are followed. I like my stews thick; this just didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This amazing! The only change I made was I added 4 tp bouillion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Good. For personal preference, we added barley, a little more water, sautéed mushrooms and less beef. Would be great as is, and it was great w our small changes just to lighten it a bit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very tasty! I live in China at the moment, so most of the herbs and sauces are quite hard to find locally, but even without it is a very hearty warming meal. Extra broccoli and potatoes were a great addition. Some chili flakes and extra pepper helped, along with about 500mL of red wine for some body. I am really looking forward to trying it with all of the spices and sauces I want, but it was still very good and easy to change to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States