Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I tried this with company.It was great. Makes a lot. I’ve made bf. stw. all my life but it was always bland. Spic it up and it's still spicy bland stew. The secret is the rosemary. Unlikely, but you don’t taste it too much and it is a perfect compliment to the stew flavors. Glad there's no celery. Never liked it. Used canned corn and green beans. Added a big onion cut up in chunks. Beef stew without onions is unthinkable! Left out the rice. Made some on the side so people could spoon their stew on top of it. Made this all in the microwave. Not a big timesaver. Browned the meat and pre-cooked the carrots, potatoes and onions before “stewing” it. Cook on high for about 20 mins. Then simmer, covered, on a medium setting for about 1 ½ hours, stirring occasionally, to get the meat tender. Gravy was thinner than I like. Stirred in about 3 Tbsp. of cornstarch dissolved in hot water to thicken. Like it dark brown so I added a tsp. more of the browning sauce. Also added about 2 tsp. of Accent (msg) and 1/3 cup of dry sherry. Some folks thought they needed to salt it more. The colorful vegetables make it appetizing looking for ordinary stew. I’ll make my beef stew like this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is a great stew recipe! I did make some changes. I put seasoning salt and garlic powder in the flour before I covered the beef. Instead of 6 cups of water I used 3 cups beef broth and 3 cups water. I didn’t have any fresh vegetables so I used 2 cans of mixed vegetables and 1 can of whole carnal corn. I really like rice so I used 1 whole cup. Every thing else I did just as the recipe said. Tasted Amazing!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBERLEY1017

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
It took a long time to cook but it was wearth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This stew had a great texture but not much flavor. The meat was incredibly tender but I had to add a lot of seasonings to give it any flavor at all. OK start for a recipe but it needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Very good! I added a can of no salt diced tomatoes, cut back some water and added Thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This was pretty good, although not great. My 6 yr old son loved it and asked for seconds. I felt it was a little too thick, but I will tweek it and make it again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was ok, but nothing fantastic either. Will keep searching for a good beef stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
A classic favorite of mine and my husband's; he thought it was great, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Lombardi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This is a close call to the classic Beef Stew. It was great my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
It was a good recipe although I prefer long grain and not instant rice in this recipe. Instant would be quicker but I prefer the taste of long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States