Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Great recipe. I didnt change a thing about it. I found it very easy and very tasty. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by material_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This recipe was very good! I made a few changes. I added parsnip, 2 bay leaves. I substituted 1 can of whole kernel corn (undrained) and a can of green beans (drained). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
great recipe my family loved it. meat very tender like it should be in stew. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Used canned veggies and this still tasted great! I didn't have browning sauce nor could I find it at the store, but it was still great without. I also didn't add the rice to keep a little healthier. I did add a couple of bay leaves and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I thought it was ok........I was hoping that it would have a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Very good! I added a can of no salt diced tomatoes, cut back some water and added Thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This was great except I would add a little red pepper for a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This stew had a great texture but not much flavor. The meat was incredibly tender but I had to add a lot of seasonings to give it any flavor at all. OK start for a recipe but it needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I tried this with company.It was great. Makes a lot. I’ve made bf. stw. all my life but it was always bland. Spic it up and it's still spicy bland stew. The secret is the rosemary. Unlikely, but you don’t taste it too much and it is a perfect compliment to the stew flavors. Glad there's no celery. Never liked it. Used canned corn and green beans. Added a big onion cut up in chunks. Beef stew without onions is unthinkable! Left out the rice. Made some on the side so people could spoon their stew on top of it. Made this all in the microwave. Not a big timesaver. Browned the meat and pre-cooked the carrots, potatoes and onions before “stewing” it. Cook on high for about 20 mins. Then simmer, covered, on a medium setting for about 1 ½ hours, stirring occasionally, to get the meat tender. Gravy was thinner than I like. Stirred in about 3 Tbsp. of cornstarch dissolved in hot water to thicken. Like it dark brown so I added a tsp. more of the browning sauce. Also added about 2 tsp. of Accent (msg) and 1/3 cup of dry sherry. Some folks thought they needed to salt it more. The colorful vegetables make it appetizing looking for ordinary stew. I’ll make my beef stew like this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
A classic favorite of mine and my husband's; he thought it was great, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Lombardi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States