Beef Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Really good! I live in a rural community so I had to omit or substitute some spices I couldn't find but they are delicious. I will make them again and try a different wrap. Maybe spring roll wrappers as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Spectacular! I made it vegetarian by leaving out the beef & they were still amazing. I'd recommend: 1) not frying in olive oil - it leaves a weird smell 2) increasing the spices, especially the salt and garlic 3) "frying" in just the tiniest bit of oil -- really more like a sautee than a fry -- they're oily enough no matter what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aquariusgal
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I used spring roll wrapper, instead of phyllo sheets because it's easier to wrap and also to deep fry. Love the texture n it's also less oily than phyllo sheets! The filling is really authentic - no changes! Love these Samosas better than commercial ones which are way too salty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Loved this recipe!! Big hit at my supper club
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made changes suggested from reviewers as follows: I made the dough that was suggested... much better than phyllo I think! The recipe was 2c AP flour, 4 Tbsp oil, 4 Tbsp water. The filling needed double this dough recipe, however the dough was great I also used lentils instead of peas, and garam masala instead of cardamom (didn't have any) The samosas seemed very authentic this way.... I might try baking some of them next time. I served these with tziziki sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
The filling was tasty, but I thought the recipe made way too much. I used the dough recipe suggested by another user and it was alright, but would have needed a lot more to use all the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by falasteen
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I love this recipe!! The only thing I did differently was add more spices and salt. I also chopped the potatoes after I boiled it into small cubes instead of mash it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falasteen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Very labor intensive but worth it if you have a few hours; I made the dough as listed by AuntWebbie. It was a little crumbly though so I had to add water as I was rolling/filling the samosas, to hold them together. I ended up baking them in the oven because I've never deep fried and was intimidated by that. They came out delicious and authentic, I was assured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
It's ok. Nothing to talk about and definitely not something I would make again. Dry and bland once the potato was added (had to double after cooking it all and tasting it). I am going to see if I can make it into a gravy to try and salvage the rest of what is in the pan. I did try some as a stuffing with cheese in a biscuit, again nothing to talk about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
delicious...loved them and so did my bf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster25
Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States