Beef Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These were fantastic. I was lacking some ingredients (mainly the chili) so it didn't quite taste as it was supposed to but I can just imagine how fantastic this recipe would have been had I followed it to a T. (Note: I don't deep fry and I'm never going to deep fry, so I used a simple dough recipe instead and baked them in the oven. Not quite like samosas but it's the filling that counts!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Substitute lamb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Too "cinnamony" tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jools
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Flavor-licious! The spices in the filling are divine. We pretty much followed the recipe for the filling but used a few suggestions from other reviewers. We diced then boiled our potatoes and did not mash them. In addition to the peas, we added boiled diced carrots just cause they were around. And not having fresh green chiles, we used a red chile paste instead. It all came together great, especially when you add the lemon juice that was also suggested. For the dough, we opted for AUNTWEBBIE's tip. The dough is so forgiving to use and quite light after they are fried. We can't get enough of this dish, so much so that we have made it twice already. And if you got leftover filling (which we made sure of), it's great with a bowl of rice. Thanks to all for the recipe and tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jools

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
YUM, YUM, YUM!! We love samosas and I have wanted to try making them myself for quite some time now. Used the dough recipe posted by AUNTWEBBIE as phyllo is not authentic for samosas. Anyway, I did not have the green chiles or paste so added some red pepper flakes and we also do not like cilantro so didn't add that. I opted to bake mine instead of frying (I know, crazy!!) to keep them out of all of that oil, although I realize that's not typical for samosas either! Regardless, thanks so much for this recipe, I will certainly make again as these were fantastic! So glad there are leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I didnt use beef as we are veg*n. I followed the filling directions other than the beef. I made my own dough which i recommend to get a true samosa flavor. This was quite yummy and everyone wanted more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Too much work for the end result. I made the dough as listed by one reviewer. When I fried them , the edges opened up. I also did the phyllo in the oven as there is alot of filling - and it was OK. Filling was tasty, but too fussy putting it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Made them for a family gathering, and I received a ton of compliments for it. I didn't even realize how delicious samosas are until I made these. I didn't add the cilantro and chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very good. I did not use wonton wrappers but instead made the samosas from a dough. The filling was delicious and was made as directed. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These are great. Just like the indian restaurant down the street. Very time consuming and makes a ton...but worth it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States