Beef Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
these are fabulous!!! Don't cut the spices, they are not that hot! I also add ground meat or sausage to my filling. Thanks so much to the poster with the dough recipe (my forever pastry for samosa's, hand held meat pies, and pizza pops) love that you can bake instead of deep fry! I bake at 400 to 410 F till lightly golden. My guy requests these all the time now, so I make a big batch and freeze them (vacuum sealed) so we can just nuke one anytime we want. Thanks again for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Wow, yum! Made almost exactly as recipe directs, only I didn't have fresh cilantro or green chilies. I'm sure they would be delicious. Oh, also left the peas whole and added them with the mashed potatoes during the last portion of cooking. Used the dough recipe from AuntWebbie, was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was the best! The samosas tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Really good! I live in a rural community so I had to omit or substitute some spices I couldn't find but they are delicious. I will make them again and try a different wrap. Maybe spring roll wrappers as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Spectacular! I made it vegetarian by leaving out the beef & they were still amazing. I'd recommend: 1) not frying in olive oil - it leaves a weird smell 2) increasing the spices, especially the salt and garlic 3) "frying" in just the tiniest bit of oil -- really more like a sautee than a fry -- they're oily enough no matter what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aquariusgal
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I used spring roll wrapper, instead of phyllo sheets because it's easier to wrap and also to deep fry. Love the texture n it's also less oily than phyllo sheets! The filling is really authentic - no changes! Love these Samosas better than commercial ones which are way too salty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Loved this recipe!! Big hit at my supper club
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made changes suggested from reviewers as follows: I made the dough that was suggested... much better than phyllo I think! The recipe was 2c AP flour, 4 Tbsp oil, 4 Tbsp water. The filling needed double this dough recipe, however the dough was great I also used lentils instead of peas, and garam masala instead of cardamom (didn't have any) The samosas seemed very authentic this way.... I might try baking some of them next time. I served these with tziziki sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
The filling was tasty, but I thought the recipe made way too much. I used the dough recipe suggested by another user and it was alright, but would have needed a lot more to use all the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by falasteen
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I love this recipe!! The only thing I did differently was add more spices and salt. I also chopped the potatoes after I boiled it into small cubes instead of mash it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falasteen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States