Beef Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
A nice way to make a Greman favorite with simple minute man/cube steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was "OK." Both my hubs and I agree that this is not the best rouladen we've had, but I'll admit, I'm a bit biased. :) On a past trip to Germany, I had the BEST (authentic) rouladen of my ENTIRE life. I don't in any way expect a homemade version to rival what I had there, but this wasn't even as good as what we get at our favorite local German restaurant. NOTE: I allowed my rouladen to simmer for 2 hours. Cube steak is a tough cut of meat. I wanted to ensure that my rouladen wouldn't be tough or chewy, but simmering for that long was a bad idea (my rouladen were pretty dry...). :( I strongly advise that you simmer NO LONGER THAN 1.5 hours (they will be just fine). NOTE #2: Use kitchen string to "tie" your rouladen bundles (it really works). Toothpicks will work too, but using string is MUCH easier. Served with Semmelknoedel (bread dumplings) and red cabbage, this was an allright meal. Thanks for sharing, Janet. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Oh thank you so much for this recipe. I remember a friend of mine used to make this, she is no longer here and I have always wanted to try this. I love to cook but my hubby (passed 4 years ago) and I do miss cooking for him, but guess what, I will try this when I go to visit my daughter and g-kids in Portland this summer. Again thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
i've been making rouladen since i was 15 and i'm 48 now. my family loves this. i like the idea of using cube steaks, i'll def try it. usually i buy a whole rump roast and have it sliced at the butchers. in addition to the pickle, i include a stalk of asparagus and a thinly sliced carrot. depending on my mood, instead of mustard, a little spread of horseradish is also good. also, at the end when the meat is done, i plate it, and instead of the brown sauce, i deglaze my pan with a little cooking wine and pour it over the meat rolls. the beauty of this recipe is that once you make it, you realize how versatile it can be, and you can tweak it so many ways:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thatsoundsyummy
Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Cube steak for rouladen? Who knew? Well, it worked for us. I pounded out the cube steaks a little to be sure I'd be able to roll them up properly. I thought it was a little salty, so next time, I'll use the boxed beef broth instead of bouillon. I used twine to secure the beef rolls (rather than toothpicks), used fresh rosemary and did add some chopped carrots to the braising broth. After making the gravy, I put the rolls back into the pan, and let them simmer for a little while. The gravy had lots of color, so I did not need the browning sauce. Served this with sautéed homemade noodles, braised sweet & sour cabbage, and freshly-cooked apples. Thanks, Janet, we really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I spent 10 years in Germany and grew up making this with a family there. We fix potato dumplings with this and didn't use rosemary. one thing they didn't mention is add some pickle juice to the gravy. It might smell odd when cooking but the extra acid really brightens this sauce. Glad to see a recipe that I grew up with getting such fond thoughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I make those every year for christmas also. Its one of our holiday meals in austria. We also but a wiener inside where we roll the bacon around then the pickels and mustard. No onions though but that's optional. The cooking time for the meat to get tender is at least 1 hour if u brown them before u let them simmer. If not add another 30 min. So ur way off by the time but the rest seems right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was very nervous about the pickle in this but I must say it was terrific. My husband really loved it also. I did substitute Au Jus mix for the bouillon (did not have the bouillon). I will continue to make it with the Au Jus. Definitely a new favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Although very tasty, the cook/prep times seem way off in the recipe. Prep time 15 min, cook time, ready in 30 minutes. Thenwhy does the recipe say simmer for 1 1/2 hours?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Just made my once a year "Octoberfest" Rouladen tonight! A great recipe that sounds curious to people. I am not a great fan of pickles but the flavor from them is really good. I use regular yellow mustard and the quartered pickle slice,chopped onions and 1/2 piece of bacon. Also just salt and pepper for seasoning. A good hint to use twine (I have always used toothpicks). I brown the rolls and then add 1 1/2 cups of boiling water and 2 teaspoons of beef boullion. Put the pan in the oven covered at 200* for a long time!! Today it was 6 hours but some times it is for 3 1/2 hours. When ready to eat make a quick gravy with flour and add more water to the pan then bring to a boil. Serve with mashed potatoes. I have loved this recipe for almost 30 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States