Beef Roast in Red Wine (Carni Arrosto al Vino Rosso) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
The usual crock pot mush meat, definitely not my favorite. As per other reviews I reduced all liquids and spices by 25%. That was fine, the cooking liquid was monstrously bright, the wine ( I used a shiraz) was a little overwhleming but I thickened it with a flour slurry and it actually worked really well over the meat and potatoes ( Oven roasted spuds and carrots). The cooking vegetables, I added some sliced mushrooms, are sacrificial, not fit for consumption. If I ever made this again, I'd add a lot more vegetables to the crock pot AND I'd reverse the wine and broth ratio, twice as much broth, half the wine. However, that mush meat thing...yuck but that's just me. Wife and kid liked it fine, you might too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
First, let me say this was one of the best slowcooker pot roast dishes I've ever had... but I did head the advice of others and altered the liquid and spices, as written would have been too much. I used just one cup wine and 2 bouillon cubes (skipped extra salt) instead of 2 plus 1/4 cup stock. I added just 1 1/2 - 2 tablespoons of Italian seasoning instead of all the others (it contains all of the herbs called for +). Those changes by themselves would have been wonderful, however because there was still a good bit of liquid, I decided to add 2 cups baby carrots and 2 Baker's cubed, 2 hours before finishing. I put the meat and vegetables in a Corning dish to serve, covered and kept warm. I put the juices in a sauce pan and added a cornstarch slury to thicken. I loved the tomato/potato/carrot mixture with a wonderful gravy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Not one of my favorite roast recipes. Boyfriend and guest liked it more than I. All I could taste was wine and wish I could have tasted some other spices as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I had a 2-pound chuck roast, so I basically halved the recipe. I did take into consideration all the reviewers that mentioned that this had way too much liquid. So, I used 1/2 cup red wine and 1/4 cup beef broth, and one can of diced tomatoes, undrained. I still ended up with a lot of liquid after the roast cooked down. I used fresh herbs, which means I should have used three times as much to replace the dry. Well, that seemed excessive, so I used 2 t. each of fresh rosemary, oregano, basil and thyme. I turned the slow cooker on low at 11 pm and went to bed. I was up in time to check it after 8 hours and it was perfectly cooked. I did drain some of the liquid off and thickened the rest with some cornstarch mixed with water. I skipped the tomato paste. Reheated just before serving. Well, this turned out to be a wonderfully seasoned, fork tender and delicious pot roast!! Having the leftovers tonight on French rolls and adding provolone. Can’t wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Absolutely delicious! However, I did "tweak" this a bit because just by looking at the ingredient list I could tell there was too much liquid and it was way too much seasoning which would be overkill. First I used a 3 pound bottom round rump roast vs. a chuck roast (personal pref) and placed it on a bed of portabella mushrooms along with the onion after seasoning it with the kosher salt and black pepper. I cut the wine back to 1 & 1/2 cups (used Cabernet Savignon), 2 cans of diced tomatoes (drained), subbed 2 cubes of beef bouillion vs. beef broth, Worcestershire sauce, and added 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar. I cut the seasoning down to 1 & 1/2 tsp. each of rosemary, oregano, and basil and cut the thyme down to 1 tsp. I also cut the kosher salt back to 1/2 tsp. I set the slow cooker on low for 8 hours and let it go. The smell was Heavenly and just as the submitter states, the aroma is that of a nice Italian restaurant. Once the 8 hours were up I added a whole 6 ounce can of tomato paste to thicken it up and let it go on high for an additional hour. This was fabulous served with garlic red mashed potatoes and Italian green beans. Thanks for a great recipe TraciK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
It's nearly 100 degrees today here in Northern CA and I made this dish which is definitely more fall/winter fare but we had the hankering for beef roast. I thought the recipe was good although there are a few things to note. I seared the roast in olive oil before adding to the crock pot. There is WAY too much liquid called for here. I scaled the ingredients in half and had plenty of liquid for the roast to cook in. After the roast cooked for 8 hours on low, I chose to strain the cooking liquid into a pan on the stove before adding the tomato paste. It will not thicken as stated in the recipe unless you add a thickener. I mixed up about 1-2 Tbsp. of cornstarch with a little water and mixed it in to get the desired consistency. It made a wonderful gravy for the very tender, delicious roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Sorry, didn't care for this. Two adults rated it 3 stars and one adult a 2 star. I followed the recipe exactly. The roast lost it's meat flavor and all we could taste was spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
so delicious. husband and i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy chestnut
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
very good, I did thicken with Wondra to make it more like a gravy. I served over garlic mashed potatos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Fabulous recipe!! The only modifications I made were: (1) seared the roast on all sides, using a small amount of olive oil in a cast iron skillet, before placing in crockpot; (2) used only 1 can of diced tomatoes; and (3) added sliced mushrooms during the last 30 minutes or so. The aroma was absolutely mouth-watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States