Beef Roast in Red Wine (Carni Arrosto al Vino Rosso) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was a home run on the first attempt. The cut of meat was the only flaw, but that's what happens with a "Meat Bundle" from the butcher. The cross rib roast was good none the less. Stellar reviews from the fam. Thanks for the effort in making the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Kopel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: O Brien, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was outstanding. Here are my minor modifications: Seared the roast on both sides in a bit of bacon grease before putting in the crock pot. Omitted the tomato paste. Use a full can of beef broth. Added a few potatoes and carrots, sliced celery and fresh mushrooms. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
its ok, its missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
The combinations of the spices with onions, garlic and tomatoes was wonderful. The red wine made a really great gravy. I cooked my roast in the oven until it reached the rare stage. I will definitely do this over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Tons of flavor! I used 1 clove garlic, no red wine, but used a couple gluks of balsamic vinegar. I also used tamari instead of worcestershire, fresh basil and thyme (about 2 tsp. each) and Italian seasoning (about 1 1/2 tsp.), cut the black pepper to about a 1/2 tsp. I also used about 6-7 fresh tomatoes, peeled, seeded and crushed instead of the canned. Instead of the tomato paste, I thickened with arrowroot powder although the tomato paste sounded good, because I served it with brown rice and wanted more of a gravy type sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monsieurgrand02
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe turned out great! I'd have to agree with most reviewers here that it makes a lot of liquid! But, I took the extra liquid and tossed in the freezer. It tastes like an amazing tomato soup. I thought I'd thaw one day and pair with it with a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monsieurgrand02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was excellent – but only after fairly significant alterations, primarily in measurements. I drastically reduced the amount of herbs, even tho’ I used fresh. Similarly, I also reduced the broth, wine and tomatoes to about one-fourth of what was called for! To get the tomato taste I knew would really enrich this, I threw in a tablespoon of Pure Tomato Powder (this stuff is awesome good by the way – it’s from our (The) Spice House in Milwaukee and can be ordered online). I dredged the roast in flour before browning it in pure (not extra virgin) olive oil, then laid it on a bed of baby bella mushrooms as well as the onions. Even after reducing the amount of liquids significantly, this still was pretty juicy – darn good, but juicy. I was tempted to put the juices on the stove and reduce them till much thicker, but ultimately decided against it, figuring that it would become too salty. The meat, as expected, was fork tender and the juices were richly flavored, delicious spooned over the beef as well as some buttered linguine. As for the excess of broth/tomato/wine juices, it will be excellent used in the soup I plan to make tomorrow! Four stars rather than five, only because of the overload of liquids called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I did have less beef, so I added carrot and potatoes with it instead, which was good. BUT like other reviewers (which I read too late) the amount of spice was overkill. I also didn't even add the beef broth and still ended up with a very soupy result. I thickened it with cornstarch and it was still quite thin. With changes as other reviewers noted, it would be good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Bogaart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
The wine flavor was a little too overwhelming. But very flavorful and aromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
The usual crock pot mush meat, definitely not my favorite. As per other reviews I reduced all liquids and spices by 25%. That was fine, the cooking liquid was monstrously bright, the wine ( I used a shiraz) was a little overwhleming but I thickened it with a flour slurry and it actually worked really well over the meat and potatoes ( Oven roasted spuds and carrots). The cooking vegetables, I added some sliced mushrooms, are sacrificial, not fit for consumption. If I ever made this again, I'd add a lot more vegetables to the crock pot AND I'd reverse the wine and broth ratio, twice as much broth, half the wine. However, that mush meat thing...yuck but that's just me. Wife and kid liked it fine, you might too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States