Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This is great. I have made shepherds pie before, but this version is way better! I made changes also. I used about 1 1/4 lb hamburger, part of it leftover taco meat, and about 6 medium potatoes.I just added about 1/2 can cream of mushroom soup, no vegetables to the hamburger. With the soup and taco meat, that was all that was needed. I also made two layers as others suggested, and that makes a difference. There was more potaoes and cheese than the meat, but delicious! This is great, filling comfort food. Next time I'll add more meat, and cut back a little on the potatoes. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
shepard's pie variation--we used frozen peas and or corn in the recipe instead of green pepper, and added garlic powder and worstershire to the hamburger for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Pretty good, although I added quite a bit of seasoning to the beef because I felt it needed it. I added garlic powder, basil, paprika, cajun seasoning, lots of pepper and salt. Good comfort meal though. I also used cheddar cheese instead of American and added cheese to both layers of potatoes that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe cooked "as is", but made some modifications and loved it. We added more onion, about 1/3 cup worstershire sauce and some garlic. Pepped it up a bit. I also made instant potatoes using canned milk and layered in a blend of shredded casserole cheese. It was a hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I have made this several times; without reading the reviews, and I have mostly stuck to the orginal recipe. I did use fat free cheese slices (my boyfriend and I are trying to watch our weight). After the first time I did add some salt, pepper, and seasoning to the ground beef mixture. I agree that it is lacking something. Next time I think I will add fat free cream of mushroom soup or fat free sour cream. All in all this is a quick and easy recipe that can easily be made using instant mashed patatoes, I also may try the garlic mashed patatoes suggested by the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittemore, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
My family loved this recipe! Even our pickiest eater liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Tried this receipe and wasn't thrilled. Didn't taste bad, but it was basically just potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
My family loved this recipe, and it was pretty simple. I tried it with venison instead of beef, added seasoning salt and garlic salt and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Thanks for the recipe, but I thought is was a little bland. I added more seasoning to it. It was quick & easy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
A good basic recipe, but needs a lot more spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States