Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Good, can't go wrong with meat and potatoes. Reminds me of Shepard's pie by the time I got done with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseline

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Anything that turns out as well as this did the first time making it deserves at least 4 stars. Very Good! I'd give it 4+ if I could. I didn't have bell pepper so I used a whole poblano and two roasted green chili peppers, diced. Also, next time I make the potatoes for layering, I would add additional butter, salt and pepper to give them a little richness and depth to go with the savory meat mixture. I've added this to my meal rotation and look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe and my family enjoyed it. It was simple to make and we just headed it up for dinner after a long day at the office. I will add some spices to give it more flavor but overall its a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Darn Good! I made this recipe last night and it was really tasty, great for lunch today too! I added some veggies but would strongly advise against skimping on the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
My kids loved it! A little bland, but my 2 and 4 yr. did not argue. Modified it by using 1pd. hamburger seasoned with chopped onion and garlic powder.Mixed in 1/2 a can mushroom soup and added 1/2c. peas and 1/2c. corn instead of green pepper. Placed meat mixture in casserole and covered top with mashed potatoes and shredded sharp cheese. Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Very filling casserole and open to additions. I made it just as written and it was a nice change from the same type of recipe (shepherds pie) that I add vegetables to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Next time I am going to sub in some left over shredded pot roast instead of the hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe! I used Betty Crocker garlic mashed potatoes on top to save time and added garlic powder and half a can of 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup to the meat. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My family and I loved this dish! I will definitely be making this again. I had no problems with the beef mixture being too dry but I found I had too much of it and ended up freezing the spare as I couldn't fit it all in the dish! Next time I'm going to use less beef but this is definitely a favourite, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM_200

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a good dish, the only thing I changed is I seasoned the beef a bit more by adding garlic salt. In the mashed potatoes I added sauteed leeks in butter and it added a bit more flavor. I might consider adding a little brown gravy to the beef mixture next time to make it a bit more juicy. It was good though, my kids gobbled it up and the hubby loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States