Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Tasted good and very simple to make. I was in a bit of a hurry when I made this recipe, so I used instant potatoes. It turned out very well. Next time I think I'll try adding some gravy like some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
very good and easy..i made a little adjustments to the recipe. i made it with turkey meat mixed gravey add thyme and made peas and carrots. I layered meat and then the vegtables, potatoes and instead of layering the cheese i mixed it with the potatoes. At the end of the layering I grated the cheese on top of it. very good.. alittle tip use half of pepper. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This is a great basic recipe. My hubby is a meat and potatoes guy so by changing this a little he loved it. I added a small can of chopped mushrooms, and a 1/2 can of cream of muchroom soup. You can use more of the soup if you like but it may make the consistency thinner. I also used a box(2packages)of the herb and butter flavored instant potatoes instead of boiling the 6 large. I also added the pretty hefty layer of Velveeta after the first layering of the meat and potatoes, and finished the dish with shredded cheddar cheese then baked until the cheese was golden brown. Will definitely make again. Laurie H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
My daughter said- "Mom this is excellent!" It was easy and quick. My whole family loved it and they scraped the bowl clean. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBS32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This is the second time I have tried this recipe. The first time didn't turn out to well because I didn't use enough ground beef and cheese, but had too many potatos. ::chuckling:: The second time I used 2 1/2 pounds of ground beef and alot more cheese. (Like it was suggested, I put a layer of cheese after the first layer of meat and potatos.) The two layers of cheese is amazing. Be careful with the green pepper. The more it is cooked, the more "water" it will produce. I would suggest using 1/2 the green pepper and dicing it up. Then again, I'm not the best cook, so I'm sure there are others that know of different thickening agents to use. Overall....it's incredibly tasty and will be used many times in the Bachelor's life. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
My husband said it tastes better than it looks! My daughter loved the cheese. I put cheese on top of the hamburg layers inside too. It would be good with corn mixed in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BestUCanBe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Ashford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I added some barBQ sauce to the meat mixture to give it a little bit more flavor. And i also added a can of corn to the potatoes along with shredded cheese. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLSAY1969

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I found this recipe to be rather dry. And it wasn't very exciting. But it was easy and kind of fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
This recipe is very good but can be made faster by sustituting instant mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This recipe was sooo easy and delicious! It is even wonderful as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States