Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was delicious! I made a few changes (some healthy, some not): 1 - added about 1/2 cup of light cream cheese to my potatoes, 2 - sauteed the onions, green peppers and about a cup of mushrooms in 1 1/2 tsp of coconut oil, 3 - added my sauteed veggies to beef mixture with a can of cream of mushroom soup, 4 - included shredded cheese tomy layers (beef, potatoes, cheese, beef, potatoes, cheese). This was so good, I went back for seconds.Not a great dinner to eat the day after sstarting a diet, but there's always tomorrow! Thanks for the great recipe. Will be adding this in to my usual rotation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenJeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wow! This is easy and so tasty my husband loved it, he likes stuff spicy so I added habanero and garlic salsa to the meat, I agree with others here, you need to spice up the meat . I also put a layer of cheddar cheese between the meat mixture and the potatoes . I will be making it with chicken and broccoli next time for something different. ?Ohh the possibilities --- Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterJack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Pretty bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M Ocaranza
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My husband said this was the bomb! I followed the recipe, except for also adding some crushed garlic, julian carrots, and one can of green beans w/out the juice to the meat mixture. I also added some smashed whole garlic to the potatoes wile they where boiling so I could mash it into them when done. Layered it just like she said and, topped it all off with shredded mozzarella cheese(it was all I had), and baked. I will make this again, thank you for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Ocaranza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Great dish! My 8 year old loved it, and that's much to say.I just added an xtra, cream cheese in top of the beef (before the potatoes) in every layer..but still use the american cheese to finish the dish ..turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awilda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is quick and easy and very delicious. This is my son's birthday meal of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Coons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is a good recipe, but being a cajun i always season meat before I cook it. But, if you drain it you may want to add some more. Add seasoning after draining. I do season before I cook some meats, but you may need to add more. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was good. I didn't layer it. I just put the mixture in the pan and then smothered it with the mashed potatoes and topped with cheese. I also threw in some mushrooms and red bell pepper (didn't have a green one). Came out pretty good. Me and my roommate loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVonne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
this was very good, but I added a can of niblets corn to it, came out like a quicky version of what folks around here call shepherd's pie, I had some left over gravy left from pot roast the day before I heated it up and spooned a little over each serving, and with a crusty bread this was a satisfying meal....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States