Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was absolutely amazing. You MUST follow the recipe EXACTLY. I was very tempted to fiddle with it, but I forced myself to be precise, and I'm glad I did! What's left is not much of a gravy, so I did add cornstarch and chicken stock to the drippings and onions to increase the volume and thickness of the gravy. Excellent recipe, very simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Really good! Changes: Rubbed a mixture of salt, Jane's Crazy Mixed Up Salt, Fresh ground pepper, Garlic powder + Montreal steak seasoning into meat before searing in extra virgin olive oil. Used 3 bay leaves and 3 crushed garlic cloves. Before adding the garlic + onion to stoneware roasting pan, I cooked them on low in the remaining drippings from dutch oven. This was an important step, I think. Then, I added 2 T worchestershire sauce + 2 C beef buillon to the meat/ onion/ garlic/ bay leaf mixture. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was a disaster. i would've given it one star if I hadn't added carrots and celery to the bottom of the pot and a tsp of bouillon instead of salt--meaning I changed the recipe. But I don't believe these changes were enough to turn out a dry tough roast. I read so many reviews and listened to those that said do not change a thing. I figured I'll start from there and make changes next time. The change I'm making is to NEVER make another roast in my life. In an attempt to save the expensive grass fed beef from going into the garbage, today I put the thinly sliced leftovers right back in the oven @ 250 degrees for 4 1/2 hours--in the gravy I had made with some extra water to keep it submerged. At least now it's tender and falling apart easily and with a new batch of gravy I'll be able to disguise the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I followed the instructions exactly and found the meat tough. I cook the exact same piece of meat in the slow cooker and it is always perfect and tender. I tried this because I did not have time for the slow cooker but I think I am back to slow cooking. There was plenty of liquid produced by the meat and the gravy was excellent. Did not need to add liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
5 mega-stars! Followed the original recipe and its by far the best roast I've ever made. I'd never go back to a crock pot and/or broth. Satisfying and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Yup, do it exactly as written, turns out perfect. I would not change a thing! Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
this was simple and delicios, i added large russet potatos to the dutch oven and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
AMAZING RECIPE! I added beef broth thinking that it might of been to dry and everything turned out delightful :D I will most certainly make this meal again! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I was looking for a different pot roast recipe. I have relied on the crock pot for many years and wanted an oven pot roast recipe. I followed this recipe nearly exactly. I did cut a few slits in the beef after I braised it and put in slivers of garlic prior to roasting. I didn't have a big enough dutch oven so I used a roasting pan and covered it tightly with heavy duty foil. After the meat had cooked 1 1/2 hrs, there was plenty of liquid. I removed 1 1/2 cups of liquid to make the gravy and then I added quartered potatoes and carrots. I baked the beef and vegetables (still tightly covered) at 350 degrees for another hour. I made the gravy by adding 1 1/2 cups of beef bouillion and thickened it with flour. My family RAVED about this pot roast! It was tender and flavorful and the vegetables were cooked just right. This will be the last roast beef recipe I will ever use! Thanks Theresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was so delicious! The meat was so tender and truly divine. I seasoned the meat before browning with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I padded it down and let it sit so it would absorb the seasons. It had great flavor. I added potatoes, carrots, parsnips, onions, and garlic to the pan, along with a can of beef broth and 1/2 can of water. This did not dry out the meat at all. Everything tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARBEAR613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States