Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
made this last thanksgiving and my family loved loved loved it ! followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Ok so I never write reviews, always mean to, but sometimes, there aren't enough hours in the day! But I finished this roast nice and early, got it served and it was devoured in no time flat! My gang is not picky, but beef - roasts in particular - well, just one of those things that always end up with a ton of flavor but just never tender enough. Not this time! I followed the directions - well, almost to a T - because of some of the reviews, I added stock and because we love mushrooms, added those too. YUMMMMM!!!! My family is now asking me to tackle steak. Just another one of those that stump me! Thanks for the WONDERFUL recipe!! We will use this one often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Oh my gosh, this was fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly, as one of the reviewers suggested. This is my new, my only, pot roast recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I made this tonight, my first pot roast and it was really good! I did as a lot of reviewers suggested and didn't change the recipe except for replacing the bay leaf with some Italian seasoning and parsley (because my husband doesn't like bay leaves). It was so good for a chuck roast and I just took the pan right out of the oven took the roast out to rest and heated up the juice/onions/garlic till it was boiling and added some flour water to make a gravy. Very good, I'll be making this again :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made it exactly as written. I too was skeptical about not adding liquid but plenty was generated - no worries there. The flavor of the roast was blah - sort of overpowering onion-y, greasy - blah and dry. Thank goodness for gravy packets! Love the idea of pot roast on a chilly fall day in New England but I believe my attempts at making pot roast are over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight, exactly as stated, and I will never ever make it any other way! I was a little nervous about not adding any liquid to it but that fear was laid to rest when I got a over a pint of delicious beef juice to make my gravy with. Don't change anything.....very tasty, moist, and tender! I used my cast iron dutch oven for searing and roasting, which I think helped a lot. Just covered tightly with foil, and an hour and a half later.....perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This recipe is WONDERFUL. My husband really like this recipe. It is very moist and tender and did I say wonderful. I think it would be great if it had mushrooms but it is really good as it is. Didn't change a thing and followed the recipe to the tee. I love gravy and this gravy was awesome. Thanks Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
The perfect (every single time) pot roast. A suggestion from one who just seldom feels the need to follow directions & has to constantly tweek & personalize every recipe I feast my eyes on - JUST TRY to leave this one alone. It is perfect as it is, your guests will love it and you will be the little kitchen genius who knows how to make a perfect roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I've made this pot roast three different times. The first was low and slow and followed the recipe to a T. If you are looking for a roast that purely celebrates the meat than this is the way to do it. Plus doing it low and slow at 225 for 3.5 or 4 hours made it so tender and flakey like a fish. But for me I needed a little more flavor so the second time I did it low and slow again but added 3 or so more garlic cloves, carrots, potatoes and about 1 1/2 cups of white wine and 2 or so cups of water. I also seasoned the meat after searing with garlic powder,onion powder and S & P. this is the way I liked it best and just to warn you, I cooked it a third time exactly the same as the second except with beef broth instead of water but my roast was 2.95 lbs and I was short on time so I cooked it as the recipe stated and it was SO dry. I mean it was DRY DRY but the flavor was still there so warning to all: if your roast weighs less than what the recipe calls for and you aren't cooking it low and slow, check it after about an hour once you drop the temp. I still think low and slow is by far THE best way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This recipe is awesome. My husband and kids loved it. My 5 year old kept saying this is the best dinner ever. I followed the recipe exactly except I added carrots and potatoes. It turned out very tender and delicious. I will defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States